Coronavirus update: View cancelled events here

The Magic Band to celebrate the music of Captain Beefheart on tour

Original members of The Magic Band, Drumbo and Rockette Morton, are heading on a tour of the UK.

Jimmy Coultas

Last updated: 3rd Nov 2015

Image: The Magic Band 

Original The Magic Band members Drumbo and Rockette Morton are getting together and touring the classic tracks of Captain Beefheart.

Heralded for his contribution to modern music, the late great Captain Beefheart didn't quit achieve commercial success, although looking back his influence and impact on new wave genres is unquestionable.

Born Don Vliet, he went on to form The Magic Band (check out some rare footage of them above), who became his backing band, playing bluesy rock music. Together, they formed one of the greatest cult bands of all time, forming the seminal album Trout Mask Replica. 

Next month, to celebrate the incredible life of Vliet, The Magic Band will tour his jukebox of blues infused rock, jazzy rhythms and classical guitar to audiences across the UK. 

UK tour dates below:

Nottingham, The Rescue Rooms - Wednesday 4th November 

Manchester, Band On The Wall - Thursday 5th November 

Bristol, 02 Academy - Friday 6th November 

Preston, The Continental - Saturday 7th November (Tickets available)

Liverpool, The Kazimier - Sunday 8th November (Tickets available) 

Sheffield, The Greystones - Tuesday 10th November 

Leeds, Brudenell Social Club - Wednesday 11th November 

Hartlepool, The Studio - Thursday 12th November 

Wolverhampton, Robin 2 - Monday 16th November 

Bristol, The Fleece - Tuesday 17th November 

London, Under The Bridge - Friday 20th November

Aldershot, West End Centre - Saturday 21st November 

Read: Listen to unheard track from Kurt Cobain's upcoming solo album