Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Transmission: Hospitality on 21st Feb 2015

Albert Hall, Manchester

Hospitality in the Albert Hall

Overall rating: 4.5  

Pros:
Had a brilliant night out; decent music, a lively but not aggressive crowd and not too packed.
Cons:
Smoking area could've been a bit better. 10:30 last entry on tickets was a joke!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Transmission: Hospitality at Albert Hall, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 9:29pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Live Wire Presents... Leftwing & Kody on 6th Feb 2015

South, Manchester

Livewire

Overall rating: 5  

Fantastic night and music was on point from all the DJs. Live wire night always throw top parties

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Live Wire Presents... Leftwing & Kody at South, Manchester

Posted 25th Feb 12:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Fantazia - The Valentine's Lovers Ball 2015 on 21st Feb 2015

The Arches, Glasgow

Magic!

Overall rating: 5  

Such a good night, tiny queue on arrival at the back of 9, was quickly searched and sorted ticket at the office. Spoilt for choice with great acts in all rooms. Great atmosphere, didn't see any trouble, staff friendly and the ravers even more so.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Fantazia - The Valentine's Lovers Ball 2015 at The Arches, Glasgow

Posted 24th Feb 07:13pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Ibeyi on 22nd Feb 2015

Night And Day Cafe, Manchester

Ibeyi at Night and Day Cafe.

Overall rating: 5  

Probably one of the best gigs I have been to - and I have been to hundreds! Not only are the sisters immensely talented, but they obviously enjoyed every minute of the performance themselves. As a friend said - next time they wont be as good, because they will be in a large venue and we will loose the intimecy that they generated with the audience.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Ibeyi at Night And Day Cafe, Manchester

Posted 23rd Feb 06:15pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Wigan Piers 21st Birthday on 6th Oct 2012

Blackpool North Pier, Blackpool

pier on the pier

Overall rating: 4.5  

great night as always

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Wigan Piers 21st Birthday at Blackpool North Pier, Blackpool

Posted 23rd Feb 05:49pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bounce Till I Die presents Wigan Piers 22nd Birthday on 5th Oct 2013

Reebok Stadium, Lostock

good night

Overall rating: 3.5  

ques for the bars and toilets were a let down, ran out of beer too

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Bounce Till I Die presents Wigan Piers 22nd Birthday at Reebok Stadium, Lostock

Posted 23rd Feb 05:46pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bounce Till I Die on 12th Jul 2014

Blackpool North Pier, Blackpool

good night

Overall rating: 4.5  

btid nights are always a great night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bounce Till I Die at Blackpool North Pier, Blackpool

Posted 23rd Feb 05:44pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

FEVER - 20th Anniversary Blackpool on 24th Aug 2014

The North Pier Blackpool, Blackpool

top night had by all

Overall rating: 5  

thee best night ever!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: FEVER - 20th Anniversary Blackpool at The North Pier Blackpool, Blackpool

Posted 23rd Feb 05:41pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bounce Till I Die - 23rd Birthday on 4th Oct 2014

53 Degrees, Preston

btid always a good night

Overall rating: 5  

great night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bounce Till I Die - 23rd Birthday at 53 Degrees, Preston

Posted 23rd Feb 05:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bounce Till I Die Boxing Night Party on 26th Dec 2014

Park Hall, Chorley

top boxing night out

Overall rating: 5  

great venue

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bounce Till I Die Boxing Night Party at Park Hall, Chorley

Posted 23rd Feb 05:39pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Acceleration - Valentines Day Massacre - FREE MASKS on 14th Feb 2015

Pure Nightclub Wigan, Wigan

pure wigan

Overall rating: 5  

great night had by all, great staff too

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Acceleration - Valentines Day Massacre - FREE MASKS at Pure Nightclub Wigan, Wigan

Posted 23rd Feb 05:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Brighton Tattoo Convention 2015 on 20th Feb 2015

Hilton Brighton Metropole, Brighton

awesome experience

Overall rating: 4  

good experience of tattoo artists/music/area!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Brighton Tattoo Convention 2015 at Hilton Brighton Metropole, Brighton

Posted 23rd Feb 01:50pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Snow Queen - A frozen tale on 21st Feb 2015

Teams And District Social Club Ltd, Gateshead

The Snow Queen - A Frozen Tale

My grandson had a great time, loved every minute of it.

Posted 23rd Feb 01:28pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Elsa and Anna Tea Party PM on 22nd Feb 2015

The Hop Farm, Kent

Tea Party with Elsa and Anna

Overall rating: 4  

Thanks for the nice time, the kids really enjoyed it. Food was nice, the music could have been just a little bit louder.
We had a great time!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Elsa and Anna Tea Party PM at The Hop Farm, Kent

Posted 23rd Feb 11:27am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Johnny cash tribute night with jericho hill on 21st Feb 2015

THE MOORINGS BAR, ABERDEEN

Jericho Hill

Overall rating: 4.5  

Fantastic, hope its not too long before their next visit to0 Aberdeen.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Johnny cash tribute night with jericho hill at THE MOORINGS BAR, ABERDEEN

Posted 23rd Feb 08:11am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Evol presents The Sundowners on 20th Feb 2015

Kazimier, Liverpool

Sundowners

Overall rating: 4.5  

Great gig at a great venue (The Kazimier Liverpool) with brilliant support. Definitely see them again and go there again

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Evol presents The Sundowners at Kazimier, Liverpool

Posted 22nd Feb 08:48pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Rubadub Presents General Levy on 21st Feb 2015

Sound Control, Manchester

General Levy and Kenny Ken at Sound Control

Overall rating: 5  

Absolutely wicked night, atmosphere music and people were amazing, drinks were a bit pricey but was a great night!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Rubadub Presents General Levy at Sound Control, Manchester

Posted 22nd Feb 06:58pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

BIGGER THAN BARRY's 7th Bday | DJ EZ on 21st Feb 2015

The Warehouse, Leeds

DJ EZ 21/03/15

Overall rating: 4  

Mint night such a good atmosphere and music.
However, I was stood in the toilet queue for an hour and a half to then find 20 girls pushing in at the front. Would rather of been on the dance floor than waiting in a line. The stairs and at the back of the main room was so so pushy and overcrowded. Perhaps selling less tickets would solve this.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: BIGGER THAN BARRY's 7th Bday | DJ EZ at The Warehouse, Leeds

Posted 22nd Feb 05:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Hed Kandi | Deep Disco on 21st Feb 2015

Static, Manchester

Hed Kandi Deep Disco at Static in Manchester

Overall rating: 5  

Excellent as always - this venue is really taking off and a great addition to the Manchester Club Scene - really did not want to leave at 3am for last transport home when the party was still in full swing - top night.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Hed Kandi | Deep Disco at Static, Manchester

Posted 22nd Feb 11:18am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Black Bee Soul Club on 20th Feb 2015

Kraak Gallery, Manchester

Black Bee Soul Club

Had a superb night last night at Black bee soul club in the Northern quarter of Manchester city center.

The vibe was just as I had known it before, an upbeat and gritty mix of sounds for the duration of the time I spent there. It was a packed house where the majority of people were under 30.

Having been away from the place for a year I found I had lost track of the on trend sounds being played there. I must admit I didn't know many of the sounds played on the night and how pleasing it was to see that those regular bees still have their firm favorites in that occasionally you saw a swarm take place. Great to see that Fin has mastered a great spin too.

Saw many friends there from the soul scene still supporting the club along witht he younger elements which made for a great mix of like minded souls.

The adventurous play reflects how hard the club residents Michael & Anthony Davies along with Liam Beckett Sam McEwan are still working very hard at bringing new and exciting sounds to the table that make Black bee a "unique" soulful experience.

The guests tonight were Keiran Lockyear & Matt Sneath , both guests delivered thumping sounds that absorbed every ounce of dance energy.

I was talking to Sam McEwan who is the only original founder of the club about how the place has maintained it's buzz and I would have to agree that the Kraak Gallery venue enhances the atmosphere tenfold with its back street entrance off Stevenson Square and a knock three times feel to it , it feels very much like a secret society is gathering.The venue has had a mini refurbishment making the dance area bigger which was much welcomed by many dancers.

I would have to say that everyone in the room was there to dance I didn't see any beer swilling monsters which is the normal trade off that you sort of accept at these Free the soul and drop the baggage events.

Yes the new set up is taking the bees to the next generation for sure.

My personal choice tunes of the night was Pervis Lee - You don't care along with Bonnie Brisker -So much love deep inside of me.

Posted 21st Feb 03:50pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Orbis Presents Ste Roberts + Winter Son on 19th Feb 2015

Joshua Brooks, Manchester

Joshua Brooks Orbis

Overall rating: 5  

Incredible night. Really good venue and a brilliantly organised event. Great event, good music and good people! Cant wait for the next one!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Orbis Presents Ste Roberts + Winter Son at Joshua Brooks, Manchester

Posted 20th Feb 12:18pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Hope Works 2nd Birthday with JEFF MILLS on 22nd Nov 2014

Hope Works, Sheffield

Epic Hope Works night!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Eagerly awaited night to see the legend that is Jeff Mills and it was stupendous. The venue and atmosphere were fantastic, with a varied, appreciative crowd and many true fans. The other acts were suitably composed. A night to remember for ever.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Hope Works 2nd Birthday with JEFF MILLS at Hope Works, Sheffield

Posted 19th Feb 04:35pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Jungle Jam - The 10th Birthday on 6th Feb 2015

Mint Warehouse, Leeds

Jungle Jam is Ten Years Old

Overall rating: 4  

My arrival at MiNT Warehouse was quite delayed due to the perils of being involved in an intense four-day bender. Sleep deprivation had resulted in me cascading into the realms of the unwell at this point, it?s a miracle I even got to the venue. Nevertheless, I made my way through the doors at around 00:30 after acting as what can only be described as a 'chewing gum mule' (hiding my minty contraband in my waistline in the same fashion that one might conceal Class A drugs). I'm yet to discern why it is so imperative to have your gum confiscated upon arrival at a night, so if anyone knows can you post it in the comments please?

I was immediately slapped in the face by a wall of junglist sounds, wicked vibes and a sea of people moving in unison. Veteran Canadian producer Marcus Visionary was on the ones-and-twos in the main room and the ravers were battling to hold their space on the dance floor. The bouncing bass and crisp snares on 'Sound Dead Tonight' (ft. Bandit Emcee), along with his trademark clean mixing, set the tone for an evening of excessive birthday celebrations.

Next up was another DJ and producer at the forefront of the junglist movement and founder of Urban Takeover Records: Micky Finn. Following on from Visionary's set, he kept the tempo up with delicate kick-drums, rattling snares and squelching arpeggios of Tribe Of Issachar?s 'Junglist' along with the menacing samples and wobbly bassline of his and Aprodite?s famous track 'Bad Ass'. A tune guaranteed to send some pretty serious shivers down your spine and catapult you into an alternative, MDMA-induced stratosphere, ostensibly never to come down.

My performance of the night goes to well-established, East London producer, Ed Solo. Kicking proceedings off he wasted no time in serving up the timeless jingly melody and instant crowd pleaser that is Eek-a-Mouse & Infra Dread?s 'Ganja Smuggling' and keeping the patrons singing with his and Deekline?s 'Bam Bam' (Serial Killaz Remix).

The momentum was successfully maintained with slammers such as O.D.B Vs Prince Fatty's 'Shimmy Ya' and a remix of Barrington Levy's classic 'Here I Come'. This was before bringing out the big guns: by the time he unveiled the hefty bass of his and Skool Of Thought?s jungle anthem 'When I Was a Yout' everyone was properly going for it.

The set was nicely rounded off with a jungle take on SL2's iconic rave sing-along (Ed Solo & Deekline's 'Ragga Tip' (Walk & Skank)). In conclusion, I think it's fair to say that Ed Solo elegantly but savagely ravished the dance floor.

The first rewind of the night that I heard came at about 3:30am. I was quite impressed with that as I have always quite vocally campaigned against them. Remarc was responsible and the tune was Tribe Of Issachar?s 'Code Red'.

Presiding over the final set of this very special 10th birthday celebration was one of the key pivotal figures and original pioneers of the early jungle/drum and bass scene: Nicky Blackmarket. After getting his first gig at a youth club in London at the tender age of 14, he embarked on a professional career that has spanned over two decades thus far.

He and a friend bought the infamous Black Market record shop in Soho in 1990 and have been diligently pushing new talent, sounds and scenes ever since. This type of activity allowed Nicky to become the poster boy for numerous music scenes and he is often described as the most faithful junglist soldier.

As different scenes were born, developed and intertwined, a shift towards hardcore and breakbeat began. Black Market records stayed ahead of the game and set aside a large section of the shop floor to be dedicated to a genre that later became Drum and Bass.

As Nicky found himself in a rapidly erupting music scene in the 90s he forged a creative partnership with Stevie Hyper D. Their performances at that time would later become the stuff of legend and recordings will be cherished for years to come. He opened with the slow build up and whispering but weighty snares of Deep Blue's 'The Helicopter Tune' and the floor suitably erupted.

As the temperature increased inside MiNT Warehouse he saluted the late emcee by dropping Stevie Hyper D's 'Buffalo Soldier' (Child Support Mix)) to a clearly elated crowd directly after Gang Related & Mask's (ft. Bigger Star) 'Ready or Not'. Things were getting hectic.

I don't usually mention emcees in reviews; I sometimes find them monotonous and tedious but bearable. However, I feel compelled to say that Mc Pean seemed to be screaming 'too damn dangerous' over and over (and over) again, like a deranged methamphetamine addict, for what was surely the best part of an hour. Although he did somewhat redeem himself with his live rendition of 'Happy Birthday' at the end supported by everyone present.

The punters refused to relent despite being constantly reminded how 'too damn dangerous' the situation was. The mess of bodies that was the main room was still going strong despite the early hour. They were treated to the infectious percussion, crunchy bass and addictively catchy vocals of Congo Natty?s 'Champion DJ' (99 Remix). Naughty percussive loops, pitch-shifted snare rolls and a drop akin to an atomic bomb of Mask?s 'Square Off' were then added into the mix as everyone raised their hands and enjoyed a moment celebrating a decade of JJ.

After the last tune concluded and the proper session heads, who don?t consider leaving a venue until there is no chance of more music (yes a dig at people who leave at 3am), started lazily shuffling out we grabbed Blackmarket and asked him to supply us with some words of wisdom:

"Absolutely vibing in here. My wisdom is belief, faith, and completely ****ing enjoying your life. That?s what my wisdom is, that?s what my ****ing wisdom is. What am I doing? I?m living my dream, that?s what I?m doing. And it?s all due to belief, faith and belief.

"You think you can do something, whatever you want to do, you can do it. It depends if you really want to do it. That?s my wisdom anyway.

It's certainly surprising that a genre with such a small repertoire of music has enjoyed such longevity without people becoming bored of the same songs, DJs and reeeeewinds month in month out. So what?s next for Jungle Jam? Most likely more of the same.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Jungle Jam - The 10th Birthday at Mint Warehouse, Leeds

Posted 19th Feb 03:12pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Elsa and Anna Teaparty AM on 14th Feb 2015

The Hop Farm, Kent

Elsa and Anna Teaparty at Hop Farm Kent

Overall rating: 4  

I think that the overall event was brilliant - there was food, drink, arts and crafts, singalong a frozen, dancing, photos with the cast of Frozen and the adults were able to chill and/or eat in the restaurant whilst the event was taking place.

It was truly lovely to see so many little children dressed up as Elsa or Anna! :)

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Elsa and Anna Teaparty AM at The Hop Farm, Kent

Posted 15th Feb 12:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Running for Skye on 14th Feb 2015

Middleton Park, Leeds

Run for Skye

Overall rating: 5  

Fantastic day, money raised for 2 amazing charities well done everyone

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Running for Skye at Middleton Park, Leeds

Posted 15th Feb 10:53am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...