Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Breaks N Bass Launch Night

Overall rating: 5  

Everyone that came had a great time!! Loads of great feedback and i can't wait for the next one on 26/4/14

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Breaks N Bass Present - James D'ley, Breaksjunky, Rayinthecloud & Ying 'N' Yang (DJ Set) at Tribeca, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 6:18pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

JOOF Editions (Brighton) on 1st Mar 2014

The Loft, Brighton

Joof

Overall rating: 5  

Joof March 2014

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: JOOF Editions (Brighton) at The Loft, Brighton

Posted 12th Apr 08:44am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Trevor Nelson DJ set on 31st Jan 2014

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

TREVOR NELSON

Overall rating: 5  

Late arrival due to train trouble but well worth the wait!
Classic R&B toons in one of me fave haunts... All good

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Trevor Nelson DJ set at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 31st Mar 11:11am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Marmalade Inspired presents....1930s Berlin Diary on 29th Mar 2014

The Leeds Club, Leeds

1930's Berlin Diaries

Overall rating: 4.5  

First class event . Superb evening of entertainment, would totally recommend

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Marmalade Inspired presents....1930s Berlin Diary at The Leeds Club, Leeds

Posted 30th Mar 12:14pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bugged Out Weekender on 7th Mar 2014

Pontins Holiday Centre, Southport

Bugged off

Overall rating: 2  

Security staff way to heavy and aggressive

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Bugged Out Weekender at Pontins Holiday Centre, Southport

Posted 27th Mar 11:37pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Weyfest 2013 on 30th Aug 2013

Rural Life Centre Tilford Surrey, Farnham

Weyfest 2013

Overall rating: 5  

This was a very good weekend of music in a lovely rural location with lots of groups over three days. The weather was good and the line up was mixed and coped for all tastes. From The Stranglers headlining Friday night to UB40 on the final night. In between there were groups such as Snakecharmer, Nine Below Zero and The Temperance Movement - who were very good. You need to check the line up details. Lots of local groups and very friendly staff. As I live locally did not need to camp. Have my tickets for 2014 and looking forward to another good weekend.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Weyfest 2013 at Rural Life Centre Tilford Surrey, Farnham

Posted 24th Mar 11:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Juicy presents Brooklyn's Finest on 14th Mar 2014

Gorilla, Manchester

Door Policy

Can't comment on how good a night it was as I arrived at the venue to find the door policty requires photo id. This was not hilighted beforehand and the that fact I am 39 years old and do not carry id around meant I was unable to enter - 0/10 for doorman

Posted 17th Mar 02:41pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Licked on Tour Holloween Party on 26th Oct 2012

Kewz Bar, Huddersfield

lovely

Overall rating: 5  

great the people the music

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Licked on Tour Holloween Party at Kewz Bar, Huddersfield

Posted 3rd Mar 08:54pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Dirty House Party presents Terry Farley on 28th Feb 2014

Fez Club, Sheffield

Nice

Overall rating: 5  

Wicked night Loved it

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Dirty House Party presents Terry Farley at Fez Club, Sheffield

Posted 3rd Mar 08:53pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) on 28th Feb 2014

Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

K Klass @ the jug, - Belong.

Overall rating: 5  

Awesome AKA amazing, astonishing, staggering, shocking, surprising, breathtaking, striking, impressive, bewildering, stunning, stupefying, disquieting; awe-inspiring, remarkable, notable, noteworthy, extraordinary, outstanding, incredible, unbelievable, phenomenal, uncommon, unheard of, mind-boggling, mind-blowing,

Cannot wait for the next.....

Only thing I am knocking slightly is the price, not of the tickets but the drinks.... but wouldnt stop me going back!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) at Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

Posted 2nd Mar 08:36pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) on 28th Feb 2014

Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

K Klass Live at Belong 28.02.14

Overall rating: 5  

For Belongs opening night, it was off the scale!! We arrived at 9.30pm, people were already dancing due to the DJs knowing how to completely build up the party and they played some quality music! The crowd in there were fab! By the time K Klass came on people were dancing on the tables, chairs, benches and just about everywhere!! K Klass live will stay with me as one of the best nights to remember, they were fantastic. The organisers of this event did a top job even dropping tickets off to my home address!!Well done guys, so looking forward to your next nights. The Old Brown Jug is always a good venue from my experiences there :-)

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) at Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

Posted 2nd Mar 08:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) on 28th Feb 2014

Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

K Klass live @ Belong

Overall rating: 5  

The Old Brown Jug has always had great night with some fantastic bands and Dj's. On Friday the 28th Feb saw a set from K Klass. The warm up Dj's were fantastic providing some great new tunes mixed sublimely in with some classics. K Klass nailed it and the crowd and the venue were top class and provided a brilliant night which will be hard to replicate. Credit to the organisers for setting this up...they have set the benchmark and possibly one of the best nights I have had in the Old Brown Jug

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Belong Live With Special Guests K-Klass (Hašienda/Cream) at Old Brown Jug, Newcastle Under Lyme

Posted 2nd Mar 07:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Theatre Of Terror Grand Halloween Burlesque Carnvial Ball on 26th Oct 2013

Morecambe Winter Gardens, Morecambe

Thanks to everyone who came

Overall rating: 4.5  

The world top magicians burlesque and variety acts and an amazing corwd the best Morecambe has seen thanks to all the positive comments we got harry Aiken you seem to have been at a different night to everone else. The bar sold out and was well stocked and everyone else had an amazing time

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Theatre Of Terror Grand Halloween Burlesque Carnvial Ball at Morecambe Winter Gardens, Morecambe

Posted 25th Feb 09:47am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Sea Horse Art Deco Valentines Ball on 15th Feb 2014

Midland Hotel, Morecambe

review

Amazing people in 1930's clothing stunning Art Deco Hotel and a Please to host the 1930's cabaret here just a magical night all around

Posted 17th Feb 07:03pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Soup Kitchen presents Pearson Sound All Night Long on 8th Feb 2014

Soup Kitchen, Manchester

Amazing

Overall rating: 4.5  

Pearson Sound all night long was a brilliant idea, it's always good to see DJ's and producers perform in smaller venues for a good price... keep it coming Soup Kitchen!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Soup Kitchen presents Pearson Sound All Night Long at Soup Kitchen, Manchester

Posted 9th Feb 09:37pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Route 94 Joke.

Overall rating: 1  

disgraceful didn't get let in for no reason whatsoever, queued for about an hour said we had to be members. absolute let down on my 21st, do NOT recommend.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Ouse Music Mcr Presents - Route94 (Extended Set) + Support at Venus, Manchester

Posted 8th Feb 02:55pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Jacky Bond Bands Debut Performance @ The Phoenix on 1st Feb 2014

The Phoenix Inn, St.Helens

The Jacky Bond Band

Overall rating: 5  

It was the first time this band has performed at The Phoenix. They came highly recommended and Now I can totally agree. I had a fab night; the pub was very busy and the band was absolutely awesome.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: The Jacky Bond Bands Debut Performance @ The Phoenix at The Phoenix Inn, St.Helens

Posted 3rd Feb 10:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

on 1st Jan 1970

,

Blundell street Gig November 28th

Overall rating: 4.5  

Sugar Mountain is a good place to start a journey through Neil Young's
legacy. So that is how Dan Chiba alone with his guitar introduced a tribute to
the great man himself. Without fuss his collaborators - 'The Prisoners of
Rock n' Roll' - joined the stage to reinforce the sound and continue towards
the final destination of a Crazy Horse revival. Crowd pleasers included -
Heart of Gold, Cinnamon Girl, Down by the River, Ohio, Old Man and Like a
Hurricane - amongst others. With Cortez the Killer, Mr Soul and I believe in you
for the more devoted. The addition of female backing vocals made for attention grabbing
harmonies highlighting the fundamental importance of the lyric in this experience.
On the downside, maybe some more attention to stage presence with a more unified
look would be expected on a bigger pricier stage. The buoyant and ever growing
tribute industry demands authentic precision beyond the music itself.
That aside, the fans I spoke to who attended were entirely satisfied having filmed
the whole event without break on their respective smart phones. Executed with talent
and passion from the acoustic beginnings to the raucous ending of electric guitars.
For a first outing Gold Rush has left Neil Young and Crazy Horse fans with something to be very excited about, and made fans of those who were not before. If you get a chance ? follow the Gold Rush.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: at ,

Posted 1st Feb 10:22pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

CHASE & STATUS on 31st Dec 2013

TFM Soundworks, Middlesbrough

Feel like we did not get what we payed for

Overall rating: 3.5  

We managed to enjoy this event for what it was as it was our first proper NYE party night out in a few years, the music was overall good and the venue was just the right size to have a good atmosphere but not too crammed.
Unfortunatelly not both DJ's apeared on the set on this night and the rapping supporting act went on for a bit too long to be honest but then again that is a matter of taste, I am actually quite annoyed though that not both DJ's from Chase and Status performed as advertised and stated on the event info. so I feel a little robbed and like we didnt get what we had actually payed for.

Kind Regards
Jessi

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: CHASE & STATUS at TFM Soundworks, Middlesbrough

Posted 19th Jan 03:18pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

303 Presents Selador Records Showcase with Dave Seaman on 23rd Nov 2013

Williamson Tunnels, Liverpool

what a night

Overall rating: 5  

really good night as usual from the 303 guys!! not to be missed!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: 303 Presents Selador Records Showcase with Dave Seaman at Williamson Tunnels, Liverpool

Posted 16th Jan 02:25pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bass Invader on 11th Jan 2014

Sound Control, Manchester

Or me

Overall rating: 2.5  

It was like having sick poured in my ears, and paying for the privilege.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Bass Invader at Sound Control, Manchester

Posted 15th Jan 03:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bass Invader on 11th Jan 2014

Sound Control, Manchester

Not for me...

Overall rating: 3.5  

I was excited for Bass invader, as it promised "the biggest Hip-Hop, Drum N Bass, Dubstep, Garage, House". Sounds great, right? It was quite a shame then, when I stepped into a room playing trap. Not just trap, but some of the worst trap remixes of decent songs, and every single song sounded exactly the same. There was about ten minutes of decent garage, and the odd listenable house tune, hidden among horribly vapid jump-up bull****. However, the crowd seemed to love it, the crowd largely consisting of people that like music just as simple as they are. In conclusion, the description was not very accurate, anyone looking for the biggest Hip-Hop, Drum N Bass, Dubstep, Garage and House should seek it elsewhere. On the plus side, drinks were cheap, making it easy to get so sloshed you can't tell that some **** in a snapback is trying to start on you.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Bass Invader at Sound Control, Manchester

Posted 15th Jan 02:08pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Vegas Party, New Years Eve 2013 on 31st Dec 2013

Rise Superclub, London

Would not recommend this club

Overall rating: 1.5  

I would not recommend this club as my coat got nicked from the cloak room and there was no Vegas Party! I would try get my money back and now the same the club is shut!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: The Vegas Party, New Years Eve 2013 at Rise Superclub, London

Posted 10th Jan 10:49pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

NYE - The Workhouse Project on 31st Dec 2013

Llanfyllin Workhouse, Llanfyllin

Perfect way to spend NYE

Overall rating: 5  

Never overcrowded, Bar wasn't a rip off, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING SOUNDS! Everything was spot on x

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: NYE - The Workhouse Project at Llanfyllin Workhouse, Llanfyllin

Posted 8th Jan 02:52am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Don't know why other reviews are slating the night....

Overall rating: 4.5  

It was f*cking awesome! Bought my early bird tickets about a week before, turned up around 0030, told the boy on the door I'd pre-purchased, joined the side queue for early bird tickets, name checked off a list and hey presto! Music was fantastic, absolutely thumping in there! Didn't have to wait too long to get served, bar staff were on form! Cloakroom, yeah there was one helluva queue there so you know what I did? I didn't ***** and moan oh no, I put my jacket at the side of the stage...and guess what? It was still there when I returned, imagine that! Great night, great tunes, great people, couldn't have asked for a better way to welcome in 2014! :D

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: NYE - Musika | Ultragroove | We Own feat PATRICK TOPPING + more at Liquid Rooms, Edinburgh

Posted 8th Jan 12:22am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...