Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Halloween 2014 on 31st Oct 2014

The Classic Grand, Glasgow

Halloween @the Classic Grand

Overall rating: 5  

Excellent night! VERY busy but lots of fun. Great music, cheap drinks and we got served at the bar quickly. Costumes were superb!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Halloween 2014 at The Classic Grand, Glasgow

Posted 10th Nov 09:11am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Soul Town on 31st May 2014

COAST, BLACKPOOL

First Night

Overall rating: 5  

What a turn out of soul connoisseurs we all really loved the music and danced all night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Soul Town at COAST, BLACKPOOL

Posted 8th Nov 04:20pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Get Down to Soul Town on 30th Aug 2014

COAST, BLACKPOOL

Soul Town

Overall rating: 5  

Fabulous classy event with lovely people just having a fab time !

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Get Down to Soul Town at COAST, BLACKPOOL

Posted 8th Nov 04:19pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

I.L.I.D presents :Ghost Ship - The Haunted Paddle Steamer on 31st Oct 2014

Dixie Queen Paddle Boat, London

Review

Overall rating: 2  

Disappointing!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: I.L.I.D presents :Ghost Ship - The Haunted Paddle Steamer at Dixie Queen Paddle Boat, London

Posted 4th Nov 10:30pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Halloween

Overall rating: 1.5  

A terrible night and a waste of money. Paid over 10 for these tickets and it was a complete let down. The advertisement was completely misleading. The image for example shows a haunted house, as well as the name of the event 'haunted house party'. We turned up expecting it to be spectacular and was thoroughly disappointed when we found that it was a general pub that had switched its lights off. In terms of the music, it was just terrible, the DJ's were not playing anything people had heard of and the atmosphere was very unexciting.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: HOME - The Haunted House Party 'HALLOWEEN' Friday 31st October Leeds 10pm-6am. at The Lounge, Leeds

Posted 1st Nov 02:11pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

DJ PIERRE on 12th Jul 2014

44PS, Manchester

DJ PIERRE - CONNIE'S ACID HOUSE PARTY , Manchester. See you in 2015 !

Overall rating: 4.5  

Biggest night of Acid House Manchester has seen for years ! Roll on DJ Pierre - Connie's Acid House Part II 2015 !

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: DJ PIERRE at 44PS, Manchester

Posted 19th Oct 07:25pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Queer We Are - 5 day festival style event celebrating queer and alternative culture on 21st Aug 2014

Bangkok Bar And Resturant Manchester M1 6ED, Manchester

Queer We Are festival

Anyone who missed this event missed out (aww poor you!).........it will be back.............i will be back there.....look forward to the next one!..........there is still fab stuff going on at Bankok Bar............go see.

Posted 19th Oct 02:13pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Cream & Composit Music present Super You&Me on 11th Oct 2014

Victoria Warehouse, Manchester

One of THE best.

Overall rating: 5  

I previously went to the Smash the House tour with Dimitri Vegas, Blasterjaxx, nervo and co and that was also phenomenal. This time, seeing as though Blasterjaxx are my favorite DJ's and closed the show again; it was perfect. All the DJ's played the music that I love and the venue is perfect for such shows, would definitely love to see Blasterjaxx play again with a similar line up and close the show...for the third time in a row!, thinking of going to see them in Glasgow.

Loved it, please come back Blasterjaxx and everyone else!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Cream & Composit Music present Super You&Me at Victoria Warehouse, Manchester

Posted 14th Oct 12:23am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Godskitchen TXXENTY on 27th Sep 2014

The Rainbow Venues, Birmingham

Disappointing all round

Overall rating: 2.5  

After going to gods kitchen twice in the past I was really looking forwards to Saturday, both times previous the event was held at HMV, the location this time was awful, in a dodgy disused factory with only one room, one bar (ridiculously overpriced), no proper toilet facilites and no space to move, I left after an hour once i realised that I would not be having a good night if I stayed there, am not normally one to complain or leave bad reviews but this has left a bad memory of an event I loved so much in the past.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Godskitchen TXXENTY at The Rainbow Venues, Birmingham

Posted 29th Sep 03:07pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

J00F Editions on 5th Jul 2014

The Loft, Brighton

TOP night!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Loved it. Just the right sort of tunes for me. Not too psychedelic, not too techno, not too trance... spot on. Venue is a proper little raving den. Dark and brilliant sound system which J00F brought along. Does make a difference where you stand with their speakers though... Couple of lights too, nothing special.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: J00F Editions at The Loft, Brighton

Posted 23rd Sep 01:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Wickerman Festival on 20th Jul 2012

Festival Site, Dundrennan

Canny beat it

Overall rating: 5  

I go every year and have never been disappointed.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: The Wickerman Festival at Festival Site, Dundrennan

Posted 21st Sep 04:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Wickerman Festival 2014 on 25th Jul 2014

Wickerman Festival Site, Dundrennan

Superb as usual

Overall rating: 5  

I've been going to Wickerman every year since 2009 (first festival I ever attended in 2005) and each year I have the greatest weekend. Glad to see the tea stall back in the Reggae tent this year. Missed it last year. Toilets were as good as you're going to get at a festival although I'd like to see more of them. I took my Mum last year (just before she turned 60) and she's a convert. She came again this year and is already planning next year! Alabama 3 on the main stage were a triumph and loved Dizzee Rascal. Loved Utah Saints but can we get Craig Charles back for the main stage on the Saturday night some time. Best set I've seen there for all ages.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Wickerman Festival 2014 at Wickerman Festival Site, Dundrennan

Posted 21st Sep 04:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Wickerman Festival 2014 on 25th Jul 2014

Wickerman Festival Site, Dundrennan

Best in years!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Loved the location of the family/quiet campsite this year - at first it seemed a bit out of the way but soon the advantages were clear - far away from the noisier campsite Also ideally positioned so those who had to go back to the tent early due to young kids could still get good view of fireworks and light shows and hear the main acts. Toilets were the cleanest ever - not just in Down + Dirties, but all over the site. I did prefer the old style Down + Dirties (porta-cabins) but set up this year did seem to work in terms of cleanliness and not breaking down. Friendlier than in more recent years, it felt like it was more like Wickerman of old and that is a good thing. Utah Saints were amazing and Dizzee Rascal was a revelation!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Wickerman Festival 2014 at Wickerman Festival Site, Dundrennan

Posted 21st Sep 02:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Mint Warehouse ...The Martinez brothers

Overall rating: 5  

fantastic day/night loved the venue awesome funky tunes on the terrace before Tom Demac

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Mint Festival - Warm-Up with The Martinez Brothers & Tom Demac + more at Mint Warehouse, Leeds

Posted 13th Sep 11:36pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Blue Moon Market Vintage & Vaudeville Fair on 6th Sep 2014

Cardiff Masonic Hall, Cardiff

Waste of money

Overall rating: 2  

Dreadful dreadful
Waste of money to get in
Can't say it enough. It was absolutely dreadful

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: The Blue Moon Market Vintage & Vaudeville Fair at Cardiff Masonic Hall, Cardiff

Posted 7th Sep 07:35pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SOUNDS OF SOUL x THINK TWICE Summer Roof Top Vibes ! on 23rd Aug 2014

SKY Bar Edinburgh, Edinburgh

Sky Bar Point Hotel 23/08/2014

Overall rating: 1  

When we arrived at the hotel we were told by the staff that they had no record of any event going ahead and we were turned away. I would like to request my money back as this event either did not go ahead or the hotel was not informed that it was going ahead. Can someone please contact me as soon as possible.
Thanks

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: SOUNDS OF SOUL x THINK TWICE Summer Roof Top Vibes ! at SKY Bar Edinburgh, Edinburgh

Posted 27th Aug 04:02pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SWE Awards Ceremony 2014 on 27th Jun 2014

Black Watch Club, Dundee

great time

Overall rating: 5  

fun night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SWE Awards Ceremony 2014 at Black Watch Club, Dundee

Posted 24th Aug 02:12pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SWE - Uprising on 26th Jul 2014

Ardler Complex Dundee, Dundee

swe uprising

Overall rating: 4.5  

great night out

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SWE - Uprising at Ardler Complex Dundee, Dundee

Posted 24th Aug 02:11pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackdot 9th August review

Overall rating: 4.5  

Digbeth doesn?t necessarily receive many compliments, but the walk up to the Rainbow Venues Warehouse was something of a mood-shifter, with the ever nearing pump of a fierce Adam Shelton beat setting the stage for what was to be a destructive night of tech-house.
As numbers steadily increased throughout the day - bearing in mind this was a 24hr rave including the after parties ? the Rainbow Warehouse absorbed an electric atmosphere with Shelton?s bass-heavy ferocity leading perfectly into Fuse boss Enzo Siragusa?s two hour set. Having witnessed Siragusa before, it is true to say that he really does possess an iconic sound, which ultimately shapes his FUSE nights both in Ibiza and London. He builds peaks quickly, resulting in a sweaty amount of drops which resonate around the dance floor, keeping the two stepper wired into his set for the whole duration through his playfully punishing bass.
Following the FUSE showcase were the French trio who have emerged throughout the last year as the go to guys for dance happy house heads, it was Apollonia?s time on stage for one of their three hour b2b2b, wholly entrancing sets. Throughout my time attending raves, I have never quite seen a dance floor so happy, smiles and sunglasses responding to the mix of classic house tracks and minimal techno the trio were playing with such energy, rendering the high ceilinged warehouse with a certain intimacy.
Rhadoo took to the decks next, combining his minimal techno with elements of jungle to provide a series of spectacularly alternative drops, not that the dance floor seemed to mind that is, the room continued to feel the energy Rhadoo was emitting.
Dubfire closed up the night, and the former Deep Dish man detonated his tech-house set with crude intensity, raw industrial techno met with gritty acid tech, each delivering destructive drops which revitalised any withering attendee. Not one person left the warehouse before Dubfire?s set was well and truly over, 15hrs in to the planned 24hrs and people were still cowboying it to the after parties with the likes of WHY NOTZ and Lewis Oxley playing sets, capping off Blackdot as a huge success.

Samuel Asquith.

Posted 14th Aug 11:36am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Method Man and Redman live in concert on 18th Jul 2014

The Ritz, Manchester

Awesome artists, shame about the venue.

Overall rating: 4  

Excellent performance, but the venue is a big let down. NO AIR AT ALL!! On a stage is probably fine, but the public areas... No air conditioning or any sign of fresh (at least) air, very hot on the floor, staff is very apologetic though.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Method Man and Redman live in concert at The Ritz, Manchester

Posted 19th Jul 02:02am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Peloton Charity Morning Brunch- Town Hall Steps on 5th Jul 2014

Leeds Town Hall, Leeds

Complete waste of money

Overall rating: 1.5  

Very poor event. Poor side on view of the race. Unable to see any tv screens. Supposed to be sharing the experience with Olympic gold medal rider plus other cycle team members, but if any of these were present, they did not make themselves known. I tried to contact the promoter to discuss my feelings, but was told by Skiddle to just leave a bad review and they may contact me ... great attitude!!! 100 NOT WELL SPENT!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Peloton Charity Morning Brunch- Town Hall Steps at Leeds Town Hall, Leeds

Posted 7th Jul 11:35am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

More cake - The Birthday! on 28th Jun 2014

Park Hall, Chorley

Bouncers didn't no the difference between chewing gum and drugs idiots ruined our night!!!!

Overall rating: 1.5  

Thrown out for getting chewing gum out of our pockets!! We asked them to search us but they refused as they new they would make fools of themselves wouldn't let us back in waste of money and some of the djs mixing was not up to much around midnight total waste of money and time and the tickets were 15 quid venue was sticky and dirty drinks a rip off!!!!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: More cake - The Birthday! at Park Hall, Chorley

Posted 1st Jul 07:03pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Soul II Soul feat Jazzie B and Caron Wheeler ARE BACK FOR MORE on 21st Jul 2013

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Soul II Soul

Overall rating: 5  

Love Soul II Soul & they didn't disappoint. The venue, as always, makes a difference with regards to- the acoustics, the overall feel & general ambience. Hoochie Coochie never disappoints. Ever been to a venue where you can see the whites of the artists eyes? Visit Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Soul II Soul feat Jazzie B and Caron Wheeler ARE BACK FOR MORE at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:46pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Gregory Porter on 14th Mar 2014

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie

Overall rating: 5  

How more up close & personal could one possibly get. Gregory Porter was amazing, every minute he sang was pure gold made all the better by the venue that was Hoochie Coochie.
This is one gig that I will remember for a long time & I'm privileged to have seen him in the comfort of the church of Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:37pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Gregory Porter on 14th Mar 2014

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie

Overall rating: 5  

How more up close & personal could one possibly get. Gregory Porter was amazing, every minute he sang was pure gold made all the better by the venue that was Hoochie Coochie.
This is one gig that I will remember for a long time & I'm privileged to have seen him in the comfort of the church of Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:36pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...