Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Dub Smugglers meets Mungo's HiFi on 30th Jan 2015

The Zoo, Manchester

Mungos Hifi and Dub Smugglers

Absolutely wicked

Posted Yesterday, 11:44pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

HomoElectric on 31st Jan 2015

Antwerp Mansion, Rusholme, Manchester

Spot on

Overall rating: 4.5  

Great night all round - Raf Daddy and Will Tramp were both top, and the unkempt venue is perfect for it; definitely going again in May

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: HomoElectric at Antwerp Mansion, Rusholme, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 4:56pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bowlers 2015 Opening Party With Stu Allan FREE PARTY FREE ENTRY on 31st Jan 2015

Bowlers Exhibition Centre, Manchester

Bowlers 2015 party

Overall rating: 5  

One of the best nights I've had in a long time! xx

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bowlers 2015 Opening Party With Stu Allan FREE PARTY FREE ENTRY at Bowlers Exhibition Centre, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 3:43pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Ruby Lou's Burlesque {NORTHERN QUARTER} on 31st Jan 2015

The Whiskey Jar, Manchester

Kept waiting too long!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Great venue, great show, great atmosphere however, we arrived at 7 to be told come back at 7.30 at 7.30 we were told 8.15 at 8.15 no body had come to find us so all the seats had gone as the basement was now crowded? We were then kept till gone 9, all good for the bar takings yes!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Ruby Lou's Burlesque {NORTHERN QUARTER} at The Whiskey Jar, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 3:35pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

CONNAH EVANS E.P Launch Night on 31st Jan 2015

Feral Cat, Bangor

CONNAH EVANS E.P. Launch Night at The Ferel Cat, Bangor

Overall rating: 5  

We had a wonderful family night out watching Connah performing - what a lovely lad he is and a fantastic singer - so talented!
Connah is going to go far and deserves every success. Not only has he the gift of a wonderful voice but he also has an engaging and fun personality. I would highly recommend to go and see Connah - a local Anglesey lad who is going to go on to great things! GO CONNAH :) x

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: CONNAH EVANS E.P Launch Night at Feral Cat, Bangor

Posted Yesterday, 12:27pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SOUP (sound of underground People) on 31st Jan 2015

Amusement 13, Birmingham

soup

Overall rating: 5  

great night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SOUP (sound of underground People) at Amusement 13, Birmingham

Posted Yesterday, 12:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Stevie Wonderland's 2nd Birthday Roller Disco w/ Breakbot on 30th Jan 2015

Academy 1, Manchester

Roller Disco

Overall rating: 3.5  

Basically waited for an hour and a half - 2 hours in the que for skates to get told it would be another half an hour. Was ment to be 400 people skating but there was 20 at a push. Was poorly organised and i want some form of refund as i spent pretty much 20 on a roller disco and didnt even go on the skates.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Stevie Wonderland's 2nd Birthday Roller Disco w/ Breakbot at Academy 1, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 11:57am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

MESH - Live in London on 31st Jan 2015

The Garage, London

Mesh - great gig

Overall rating: 4.5  

Having seen them over the years and bought most of their albums - this was a real treat. The support were top drawer too making it a special evening.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: MESH - Live in London at The Garage, London

Posted Yesterday, 11:40am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bowlers 2015 Opening Party With Stu Allan FREE PARTY FREE ENTRY on 31st Jan 2015

Bowlers Exhibition Centre, Manchester

Bowlers 2015 opening party FREE!!!!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Best night in years. Stu Allan is incredible. Tune after tune after all night. Only one gripe, the toilets are appalling needed arm bands to get through the water.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bowlers 2015 Opening Party With Stu Allan FREE PARTY FREE ENTRY at Bowlers Exhibition Centre, Manchester

Posted Yesterday, 11:19am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

My first review

Overall rating: 4.5  

the night was the best night i have been to in along time. First at the club the people that were there were the people i liked to meet just there for the music and to meet people.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Bryan Kearney, Jordan Suckley, Sneijder, Skypatrol, Allen & Envy at Venus, Manchester

Posted 31st Jan 05:49pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Uber300 - Laurent Garnier on 30th Jan 2015

The Brickyard, Carlisle

Bang On

Overall rating: 5  

Quality evening. Ki Creighton and fantastic four hour set from Laurent Garnier. What a night!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Uber300 - Laurent Garnier at The Brickyard, Carlisle

Posted 31st Jan 05:03pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Garage Nation - Fri 30th Jan 2015 @ Zeus Reading on 30th Jan 2015

Zeus, Reading

Banging tunes, shame about the venue!

Overall rating: 3.5  

We was soo looking forward to this event, the music was AAAWwEsome!, but unfortunately the venue let it down, out 3 bars there was only 5 bar staff across all 3, which meant actually getting a drink was near impossible the majority of the crowd spent the entire evening queuing for drinks. Sort it out Zeus!!! Whilst I would recommend the event itself, I wouldn't recommend the venue, sorry.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Garage Nation - Fri 30th Jan 2015 @ Zeus Reading at Zeus, Reading

Posted 31st Jan 01:30pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Stevie Wonderland's 2nd Birthday Roller Disco w/ Breakbot on 30th Jan 2015

Academy 1, Manchester

Complaint



Complaint
Naomi Hopkins 11:43
To: Steviewonderlandinfo@hotmail.com

I attended the Stevie Wonderland Roller Disco last night (30th Jan 2015) and I was greatly disappointed by the night for several reasons.
The first issue I would like to raise is the lack of skates. It was advertised that there would be 400 skates available and frankly, this was a lie. This lack of skates meant huge queues for those wanting to skate. In addition, there was no time limit for those who were skating which also lead to the enormous queues.
I did not get a chance to skate as the queues were too long and I did not want to spend the majority of my night in a queue. The security staff were not managing the queues in an effective way, they were rude and they were also being physical with some people which is unacceptable.
The venue was also incredibly cold for some reason which was an unpleasant addition to the night.
The layout of the room also left a lot to be desired as the skating area and queues took up so much space, there was barely any room to dance, so for those (the majority) who were not skating, there was not sufficient space to dance.
Also for both those who skated but especially those who did not get to skate, the ticket price was far too expensive and due to the lack of organisation, the night was not worth this price at all!
I personally, am put off from attending future Stevie Wonderland events if they are organised anywhere near as poorly as this one.
For a night which had the potential to be a lot of fun, myself and many of my friends were greatly displeased, especially after paying around 17 for a ticket. To be honest, I would like a full or partial re fund but aside from this, I hope all of my comments are taken into account when organising your next event.
If you would like to contact me further regarding my refund, my email is naomi.bethhh@hotmail.com

Posted 31st Jan 11:52am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Paul Jones & Dave Kelly on 29th Jan 2015

The Flowerpot, Derby

Blues

Overall rating: 4.5  

One of the best blues acts I have been to in a long time. The last time I saw Paul Jones was at a Glastonbury festival back in the day with the Blues Band.
I have never heard Dave Kelly before and he was a revelation with a great blues voice and stunning guitar playing.
The crowd were quiet and very appreciative, so much so we got told off at the back of the room for talking..:)

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Paul Jones & Dave Kelly at The Flowerpot, Derby

Posted 31st Jan 02:11am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Ghostpoet on 29th Jan 2015

Gullivers, Manchester

Ghostpoet @ Gullivers

Overall rating: 4  

Nice venue, good gig.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Ghostpoet at Gullivers, Manchester

Posted 30th Jan 11:58am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Need a refund

Overall rating: 1  

Night was cancelled with no warning or information about a refund.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Vintage Culture Mcr presents 'Vintage Culture' (Lou Lou Records, Brazil) at Suede Nightclub, Manchester

Posted 28th Jan 05:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Gutter Gutter on 24th Jan 2015

Plan B, London

Gutter Gutter review

Overall rating: 2  

Disappointing DJs and an awfully engineered sound rig.

Frankly I feel like an absolute ****ing mug for going and and I that I've been robbed the best part of 15.00 for my ticket.

I will be advising all my friends to avoid any events by the same organisers.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Gutter Gutter at Plan B, London

Posted 26th Jan 02:59pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

MINT WAREHOUSE - 3RD BIRTHDAY on 24th Jan 2015

Mint Warehouse, Leeds

Mint Warehouse 3rd Birthday

Overall rating: 3  

All in all me and my friends had good night to begin with. During peak time the venue became extremely packed people squashed with shoulder to shoulder. It was hard to even move around dance and was constantly losing friends during the night due to busy walkways of people pushing each other

Another bad point is the fact there were people pickpocketing my friends which were luckily caught during the process, which is very distressing especially when you you are in a different city where you have to be alert of what is happening even more.

Apart from them bombshell points the music was brilliant with a good sound system.

A better venue is needed in the future with more room.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: MINT WAREHOUSE - 3RD BIRTHDAY at Mint Warehouse, Leeds

Posted 26th Jan 01:59pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

GOLD TEETH | 90s NOSTALGIA SPECIAL | GORILLA on 23rd Jan 2015

Gorilla, Manchester

lack of 90s

Overall rating: 4  

disappointed with the lack of 90s hip hop and garage as advertised. still had a good night but still

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: GOLD TEETH | 90s NOSTALGIA SPECIAL | GORILLA at Gorilla, Manchester

Posted 26th Jan 10:39am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

FutureShock 79! Pro-Wrestling Jan 25th on 25th Jan 2015

Stockport Guild Hall, STOCKPORT

Great night out for a tenner

Overall rating: 5  

This is the 3rd Futureshock event I've been to and I'll definitely be back for more, really good standard of wrestling & showmanship on your doorstep for a tenner - great night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: FutureShock 79! Pro-Wrestling Jan 25th at Stockport Guild Hall, STOCKPORT

Posted 26th Jan 10:17am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Saturdayy

Overall rating: 4  

Great music, venue and great night, would definitely go again, drinks inside club are a rip off(9-10 for a glass) - so drink-up before, other than that, one of the best nights iv had in my life..

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Opening Pt2 - Lil' Louis (The Founding Father Of House), Brawther, Oli Furness & more at Sankeys, Manchester

Posted 25th Jan 07:56pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Jungle Saturdays on 24th Jan 2015

The Jungle , Burnley

Really good music, nice venue, rude staff

Overall rating: 3.5  

Really enjoyed the music. Venue is nice, the jungle theme is very unique, and the attention to detail of the theme with all the decor was impressive. Drinks prices were average, but the ****tails were nice and well presented. Only thing was the staff, after ordering our ticket online, thinking it would save time and money, the girl on the door couldn't understand why we already had tickets and kept trying to convince us they were invalid, after quite a long wait she decided to let us in, but didn't even note down the reference numbers or anything, very unprofessional. When we got to the bar, staff were fairly rude and kept looking at us funny when we asked what ****tails were nice or if you had any drinks offers on, and gave us no information.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Jungle Saturdays at The Jungle , Burnley

Posted 25th Jan 07:45pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

FREE Pop-Up Party on 24th Jan 2015

The Liquid Rooms, Edinburgh

Funktastic house vibes all night

Overall rating: 4.5  

You would have been very happy to pay good money for what happened last night. Absolutely quality banging, funky house and techno tunes all night. Liquid Room is where it's at yo. "Use the podiums at your own risk". Nuff said. Go hard or go home.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: FREE Pop-Up Party at The Liquid Rooms, Edinburgh

Posted 25th Jan 02:16pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Hedkandi Returns to Static on 24th Jan 2015

Static, Manchester

Hed Kandi returns to Static in Manchester

Overall rating: 5  

Static is a great addition to the Manchester music scene - top music, very friendly atmosphere and a good vibe - seems like everyone is there for the music and, of course, it's HedKandi - top DJ's in a relatively small basement venue, creating a party - it's what all clubbing should be about.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Hedkandi Returns to Static at Static, Manchester

Posted 25th Jan 12:24pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Speed Dating - Leeds - Ages 40-55 on 23rd Jan 2015

Chino Latino , Leeds

First Time at Speed Dating

It was ok, which means it wasn't great. There were only 9 'dates' which was a bit of a let down. However, I did have a good time overall.

Posted 25th Jan 12:23am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...