Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

SOUNDS OF SOUL x THINK TWICE Summer Roof Top Vibes ! on 23rd Aug 2014

Sky Bar Point Hotel , Edinburgh

Sky Bar Point Hotel 23/08/2014

Overall rating: 1  

When we arrived at the hotel we were told by the staff that they had no record of any event going ahead and we were turned away. I would like to request my money back as this event either did not go ahead or the hotel was not informed that it was going ahead. Can someone please contact me as soon as possible.
Thanks

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: SOUNDS OF SOUL x THINK TWICE Summer Roof Top Vibes ! at Sky Bar Point Hotel , Edinburgh

Posted 27th Aug 04:02pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SWE Awards Ceremony 2014 on 27th Jun 2014

Black Watch Club, Dundee

great time

Overall rating: 5  

fun night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SWE Awards Ceremony 2014 at Black Watch Club, Dundee

Posted 24th Aug 02:12pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SWE - Uprising on 26th Jul 2014

Ardler Complex Dundee, Dundee

swe uprising

Overall rating: 4.5  

great night out

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SWE - Uprising at Ardler Complex Dundee, Dundee

Posted 24th Aug 02:11pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackdot 9th August review

Overall rating: 4.5  

Digbeth doesn?t necessarily receive many compliments, but the walk up to the Rainbow Venues Warehouse was something of a mood-shifter, with the ever nearing pump of a fierce Adam Shelton beat setting the stage for what was to be a destructive night of tech-house.
As numbers steadily increased throughout the day - bearing in mind this was a 24hr rave including the after parties ? the Rainbow Warehouse absorbed an electric atmosphere with Shelton?s bass-heavy ferocity leading perfectly into Fuse boss Enzo Siragusa?s two hour set. Having witnessed Siragusa before, it is true to say that he really does possess an iconic sound, which ultimately shapes his FUSE nights both in Ibiza and London. He builds peaks quickly, resulting in a sweaty amount of drops which resonate around the dance floor, keeping the two stepper wired into his set for the whole duration through his playfully punishing bass.
Following the FUSE showcase were the French trio who have emerged throughout the last year as the go to guys for dance happy house heads, it was Apollonia?s time on stage for one of their three hour b2b2b, wholly entrancing sets. Throughout my time attending raves, I have never quite seen a dance floor so happy, smiles and sunglasses responding to the mix of classic house tracks and minimal techno the trio were playing with such energy, rendering the high ceilinged warehouse with a certain intimacy.
Rhadoo took to the decks next, combining his minimal techno with elements of jungle to provide a series of spectacularly alternative drops, not that the dance floor seemed to mind that is, the room continued to feel the energy Rhadoo was emitting.
Dubfire closed up the night, and the former Deep Dish man detonated his tech-house set with crude intensity, raw industrial techno met with gritty acid tech, each delivering destructive drops which revitalised any withering attendee. Not one person left the warehouse before Dubfire?s set was well and truly over, 15hrs in to the planned 24hrs and people were still cowboying it to the after parties with the likes of WHY NOTZ and Lewis Oxley playing sets, capping off Blackdot as a huge success.

Samuel Asquith.

Posted 14th Aug 11:36am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Method Man and Redman live in concert on 18th Jul 2014

The Ritz, Manchester

Awesome artists, shame about the venue.

Overall rating: 4  

Excellent performance, but the venue is a big let down. NO AIR AT ALL!! On a stage is probably fine, but the public areas... No air conditioning or any sign of fresh (at least) air, very hot on the floor, staff is very apologetic though.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Method Man and Redman live in concert at The Ritz, Manchester

Posted 19th Jul 02:02am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Peloton Charity Morning Brunch- Town Hall Steps on 5th Jul 2014

Leeds Town Hall, Leeds

Complete waste of money

Overall rating: 1.5  

Very poor event. Poor side on view of the race. Unable to see any tv screens. Supposed to be sharing the experience with Olympic gold medal rider plus other cycle team members, but if any of these were present, they did not make themselves known. I tried to contact the promoter to discuss my feelings, but was told by Skiddle to just leave a bad review and they may contact me ... great attitude!!! 100 NOT WELL SPENT!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Peloton Charity Morning Brunch- Town Hall Steps at Leeds Town Hall, Leeds

Posted 7th Jul 11:35am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

More cake - The Birthday! on 28th Jun 2014

Park Hall, Chorley

Bouncers didn't no the difference between chewing gum and drugs idiots ruined our night!!!!

Overall rating: 1.5  

Thrown out for getting chewing gum out of our pockets!! We asked them to search us but they refused as they new they would make fools of themselves wouldn't let us back in waste of money and some of the djs mixing was not up to much around midnight total waste of money and time and the tickets were 15 quid venue was sticky and dirty drinks a rip off!!!!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: More cake - The Birthday! at Park Hall, Chorley

Posted 1st Jul 07:03pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Soul II Soul feat Jazzie B and Caron Wheeler ARE BACK FOR MORE on 21st Jul 2013

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Soul II Soul

Overall rating: 5  

Love Soul II Soul & they didn't disappoint. The venue, as always, makes a difference with regards to- the acoustics, the overall feel & general ambience. Hoochie Coochie never disappoints. Ever been to a venue where you can see the whites of the artists eyes? Visit Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Soul II Soul feat Jazzie B and Caron Wheeler ARE BACK FOR MORE at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:46pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Gregory Porter on 14th Mar 2014

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie

Overall rating: 5  

How more up close & personal could one possibly get. Gregory Porter was amazing, every minute he sang was pure gold made all the better by the venue that was Hoochie Coochie.
This is one gig that I will remember for a long time & I'm privileged to have seen him in the comfort of the church of Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:37pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Gregory Porter on 14th Mar 2014

Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie

Overall rating: 5  

How more up close & personal could one possibly get. Gregory Porter was amazing, every minute he sang was pure gold made all the better by the venue that was Hoochie Coochie.
This is one gig that I will remember for a long time & I'm privileged to have seen him in the comfort of the church of Hoochie.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Gregory Porter at Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

Posted 30th Jun 10:36pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Suffragette on 12th Jun 2014

The Mill Studio At Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford

Informative and enjoyable

Overall rating: 4.5  

This one-woman show is a compelling mix of versatile performance, original live music, and historical research and interpretation - all of which combine to bring a fascinating and important moment in our nation's past to life. The show is both educational and entertaining, and succeeds in imparting an account of events whilst generating empathy amongst the audience for the female characters portrayed. This is in no small part due to the exceptional abilities of the leading lady, who convincingly shifts from character to character; one truly forgets at times that one is watching the same person! I think it would be interesting to develop some of the ideas and themes present in the show, for instance by contemplating women's current relationship with politics and feminism in the UK.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Suffragette at The Mill Studio At Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford

Posted 24th Jun 02:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Disco Deviant Birthday Especial with Daniel Avery & Andrew Weatherall

Overall rating: 3.5  

One of the best nights I have been involved with in Brighton, our 6th Birthday went off in style. Crowd were up for it form the off, great reaction and response to the music all night.
fitting way to celebrate out birthday!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Disco Deviant 6th Birthday Especial with Andrew Weatherall & Daniel Avery at Audio, Brighton

Posted 23rd Jun 02:57pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Great night - exciting music and full on atmosphere

Overall rating: 4.5  

Having been to more than my foar share of club nights and promoting plenty over the years, it is a pleasure to have a night like this one. Massively up for it crowd and a really interesting set made for a great night, with Psychemagik carrying on until 4.30am - lovely edition of Disco Deviant!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Disco Deviant with Psychemagik, Pablo Contraband & Wild Fantasy at Audio, Brighton

Posted 23rd Jun 02:47pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

S2S Festival 4/20- DJ EZ etc

Overall rating: 5  

This event was suggested to me by a uni friend, as it happened on my 21st birthday. Hadn't even heard of Bowlers, and the line up was pretty much up my street so me and my boyfriend went. The venue was enormous, more than just DJs there, loads of people, amazing atmosphere and the music (especially DJ EZ for me) was great. We arrived at like 10.30-ish so getting in was easy for us, don't actually know how bad it would've been earlier on in the day. EZ was the main reason I went and it was quite a show. We didn't use the bar much, was a bit annoying that you couldn't keep bottlecaps for the drinks you've just paid for, especially when you're amongst the crowds! On the whole, I thought S2S was a ****ing great night, something completely new for me and I really ****ing enjoyed it musically.

Posted 12th Jun 11:10pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Below The Surface- Last Magpie & Krywolf

Overall rating: 4.5  

This was a completely new night for me; never been South before, Below the Surface was new, hadn't seen Last Magpie or Krywolf yet which is why me and mates wanted to go. The venue was good for the night and it wasn't over crowded, good atmosphere for the night advertised. Last Magpie and Krywolf were amazing, so totally worth making the effort to go out during the week as a student mid-deadline week. Bit gutted we had missed the start of Last Magpie though, due to lack of some form of set times prior to getting to South.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Below The Surface 002 Pre Launch: w/ Kry Wolf, Last Magpie, BTS Residents at South, Manchester

Posted 12th Jun 10:44pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Mvson with Ten Walls (Live) on 15th Mar 2014

Gorilla, Manchester

mvson-Ten Walls (live)

Overall rating: 4.5  

Entry was fairly quick. The music and atmosphere was perfect for the kind of night it was. Ten Walls was the main appeal of the night for me. He was amazing, the only problem was the sound cutting out right at the end of his set before he had actually finished, huge disappointment! The wait for the smoking area was also a problem due to the fact it was so busy, which again brings out the agitated people.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Mvson with Ten Walls (Live) at Gorilla, Manchester

Posted 12th Jun 10:35pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Kaluki Present Richy Ahmed & wAFF (Hot Creations) on 8th Mar 2014

Gorilla, Manchester

Kaluki-Richy Ahmed & Waff

Overall rating: 4.5  

I've been to Gorilla a few times this year and I'm yet to be disappointed. Kaluki was probably the busiest I'd personally seen Gorilla. Getting in was fairly quick. The acts and music were brilliant; me and my friend literally didn't move from the front for pretty much the whole thing-Richy Ahmed is now one of our favourite artists thanks to this night! Drink prices were so-so. My only real issue with this night due to the fact it was extremely busy was getting to and being in the smoking area, get a few people a bit too rowdy!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Kaluki Present Richy Ahmed & wAFF (Hot Creations) at Gorilla, Manchester

Posted 12th Jun 09:46pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Bonobo (Live) on 28th Feb 2014

Albert Hall, Manchester

Bonobo (Live)

Albert Halls atmospheric venue was perfect for Bonobo's live show. The music/acoustics were brilliant, Bonobo is a fantastic showman who I would definitely see again. It didn't matter where you were in the venue you could see everything. Door staff were very friendly and helpful, entry inside was pretty fast. There wasn't any trouble during the show. Merchandise was actually surprisingly cheap! I would recommend the Albert Hall for gigs to friends.

Posted 12th Jun 09:34pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Quench's Summer Heat on 7th Jun 2014

Eiger Studios, Leeds

Great music and a friendly crowd!

Overall rating: 4.5  

Had a wicked night playing and enjoying the music at Quench on 7-6-14. Everyone seemed to have a blast and we'd probably still be partying now if they hadn't turned the music off at 5:15am! lol. Can't wait till the next instalment :) x

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Quench's Summer Heat at Eiger Studios, Leeds

Posted 10th Jun 10:27am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

HIT&RUN presents THE MOUSE OUTFIT and "STRANGE BREAKS and MR. THING" on 4th Jan 2014

Antwerp Mansion, Rusholme, Manchester

I'd have Mouse Outfit's babies (if I was capable)

Overall rating: 5  

One of the best gigs I've been to sinceI've lived in Manchester. The raw intensity of the performance, the flow between the MCs and Musicians and most importantly the crowd. Antwerp Mansion absolutely ****ing rocked to these guys,

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: ?

Related event: HIT&RUN presents THE MOUSE OUTFIT and "STRANGE BREAKS and MR. THING" at Antwerp Mansion, Rusholme, Manchester

Posted 25th May 02:14pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Don't Get Lemon Presents..Bella Sarris & Randall M (tINI & The Gang) on 28th Feb 2014

Colombo House Basement, Derby

awesome night

Overall rating: 5  

Absolutely spot on...music ws class and crowd ws really friendly...such a laid back approach to the night

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Don't Get Lemon Presents..Bella Sarris & Randall M (tINI & The Gang) at Colombo House Basement, Derby

Posted 19th May 10:02am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

MOOD SWINGS - BOHEMIAN BEDLAM on 3rd May 2014

Beaver Works, Leeds

epic

a unique event at a unique venue that will surely run on for years

Posted 7th May 03:55pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Junk Department Big Top on 3rd May 2014

Stoneham Park, Eastleigh

big top

Overall rating: 4.5  

just a great day

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Junk Department Big Top at Stoneham Park, Eastleigh

Posted 4th May 08:38am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

DETOX 13th Birthday on 18th Apr 2014

The Cosmic Ballroom, Newcastle-upon-tyne

Detox 13th Birthday

Overall rating: 4.5  

First time at Cosmic Ballroom for a while. I was blown away with the sound system!!! My ears where ringing for 2 days! Lol. Amazing night. And Kutski was the highlight of the night as usual!!! Bring on the next one!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: DETOX 13th Birthday at The Cosmic Ballroom, Newcastle-upon-tyne

Posted 1st May 08:42pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Goodgreef Xtra Hard - Underground Asylum on 7th Mar 2014

Newcastle University Students Union, Newcastle

Goodgreef Xtra Hard

Overall rating: 5  

Wow!!! Amazing night! The atmosphere was electric! Hope there's another one soon!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Goodgreef Xtra Hard - Underground Asylum at Newcastle University Students Union, Newcastle

Posted 1st May 08:39pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...