Latest Event Reviews

We're always keen to hear what you thought of club nights, gigs, etc... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Blackpool Rocks on 20th Dec 2014

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Worst event ever!

Overall rating: 1.5  

Very disappointed with the venue:
Over selling tickets
Only 3 rooms where in actual use when it clearly states on its line ups that there's 5-6
When I asked some of the bouncers where the certain areas were, they didn't have a clue
Leave for 5 mins from the ballroom to go to the smoking area, then literally all hell broke loose! I see people nearly get pushed off the balconies, and I saw a poor girl struggling to breath because of the sheer pushing, trampling etc.
When I do manage to get through the chaos to get to the ballroom, I ended up waiting for 4 hours on the stairwell only telling us last minute that you've closed it.
Even when however people were leaving the ballroom your staff still refused to let anyone else in!
what I also found shocking was that certain people were allowed in VIP when they clearly had no VIP passes! I saw one girl in particular show abit of cleavage to the bouncer, knowing full well she wasn't VIP simply saying "my boyfriend is there".
I've been to quite a few dance gigs and this was the worst planned out event I've ever been too. Especially when you've planned this with your mates for a while and drove 250 miles the night before, utter discrace.
I will try my utmost hardest (but will probably get ignored) to get a full refund QuickTime.
And next time if you do somehow manage to organise another event, sort the dress code out! I
would not let customers in wearing a full track suit and baseball cap. They haven't gone in there to play sports have they?

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Blackpool Rocks at Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Posted Today, 8:01pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackpool Rocks on 20th Dec 2014

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Total bullshit

Overall rating: 1  

Would never go again drugs everywhere
Nearly getting crushed to death
Bouncers doing **** all making money off drugs and letting people in

90 pound for 2 tickets
Got to see no good djs and did not see 10 rooms only seen 3

Very sorry but would like a refund

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Blackpool Rocks at Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Posted Today, 7:32pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackpool Rocks on 20th Dec 2014

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Complete let down.

Overall rating: 2  

Genuinely happy to have made it home in one piece last night after seeing people getting trampled on, thrown around and punched in the queues and chaotic crowds. Myself and my four friends were genuinely terrified and we saw lots of people being taken away in ambulances. We expected queues like with any event but staff were giving no advice and seemed just as worried as us. We paid to see the main acts and couldn't even get into the ballroom because they had clearly oversold on their tickets. Complete and utter carnage and not to mention really dangerous- had there been a fire, we would have been in serious trouble. I would hope that refunds will be issued because we didn't get the night we paid for. Such a shame as I am sure the main DJ's were amazing and we were really looking forward to a night of great music in our home town.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Blackpool Rocks at Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Posted Today, 4:33pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Imaginarium X3: Stargate IMG on 20th Dec 2014

Union, London

shit

Overall rating: 1.5  

****. and female bouncer was really rude

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Imaginarium X3: Stargate IMG at Union, London

Posted Today, 3:41pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackpool Rocks on 20th Dec 2014

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Dangerous shambles.

Overall rating: 1  

This event could have so easily turned into a tragedy!! They completely oversold tickets. The majority of people that bought tickets were caught up in dangerous crushes and bottle necks of hundreds of people. I didn't get to see any of the major acts advertised because they completely sealed the room off. Security didn't have a clue and were getting wound up. Im trying to get a refund for me and four other people. I would not recommend unless you like to pay 40 to get crushed and stand in ques all night. Awful!!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Blackpool Rocks at Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Posted Today, 1:59pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Blackpool Rocks on 20th Dec 2014

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Waste of money

Overall rating: 1  

Paid for my ticket to see none of the acts I wanted, and spent most of my night queuing to get around the venue. Was in the ballroom at 9pm, left to go to the toilet, and was told it was then a 4 hour queue to get back in. The organisation of the event was shocking, definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone and expect a refund seeing as I spent my night in corridors queuing, despite being there early as the event recommended.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Blackpool Rocks at Blackpool Tower, Blackpool

Posted Today, 1:27pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Ginger Pig live on 19th Dec 2014

Picturedrome, Northampton

Ginger Pig - 19/12/14

Overall rating: 5  

What a perfect start to my Christmas break
The venue is super - accoustics great
A night of non-stop dancing
smiling
and worth the aching feet!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: The Ginger Pig live at Picturedrome, Northampton

Posted Today, 1:01pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Grey Area with Monoloc, Cleric & residents. on 20th Dec 2014

Joshua Brooks, Manchester

Monoloc, Cedric and Residents @ Joshua Brooks

Awesome club! I arrived in Manchester few months ago and Grey Area Manchester @ Joshua Brooks is exactly what I was looking for!!! Top music, nice people and smiles! Definitely, I will keep an eye on the next events!

Posted Today, 11:26am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

SIMPLE MINDED - Simple Minds Tribute with Duran an Duran on 13th Dec 2014

DreadnoughtRock, Bathgate

Simple Minded

Overall rating: 5  

The first music I heard on the tannoy at Bristol Airport as I flew to Edinburgh on my way to Bathgate was Planet Earth by Duran Duran... The Omens were good. A whistle stop tour of Edinburgh and South Queensferry followed before arriving at The Dreadnought. Duran an Duran came on and soon had the crowd dancing with great versions of great tracks. And so it was Simple Minded who then took to the stage and launched into a blistering set of Simple Minds classics. But this was no ordinary cover show, oh no... They played their interpretations of the best live versions Simple Minds have ever played. The band are clearly all fans of the music and enjoyed playing older and newer material including a haunting version of the more widely known Belfast Child to a full on trance version of This Fear Of Gods. A set that was at least 90 minutes long was flawless from start to finish... Would definitely travel from Devon to Scotland again for this. Great bands and a great venue with friendly staff.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: SIMPLE MINDED - Simple Minds Tribute with Duran an Duran at DreadnoughtRock, Bathgate

Posted 17th Dec 08:01pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Stevie Wonderland presents Craig's Christmas Cracker on 11th Dec 2014

Roadhouse, Manchester

Craig's Christmas Cracker

Overall rating: 4.5  

Even if his DJing wasn't on point, which it ****ing was, Craig was obviously having such a great time that it would have been difficult not to. The music was a ride through familiar territory with exotic twists and enough edge to keep you interested and feel like you could relate to your fellow stranger dancers more keenly, like everyone in the room had a common love for the same beautiful passage and Craig tapped into it. Sweet telepathy... A Highlight might be Craig's mix of Sexual Healing which made it onto my phone to keep as a low-bit memento. Despite the event's name this Christmas Cracker was no 'blend of Christmas Classics old and new' bull****, this was stamped with Craig Charles, and everyone at Roadhouse that night was happier for it. Mmmmmm

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Stevie Wonderland presents Craig's Christmas Cracker at Roadhouse, Manchester

Posted 17th Dec 04:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Studio 338 Christmas Special (Part Two) on 13th Dec 2014

Studio 338, Greenwich

Studio 338 Christmas Party part 2

Overall rating: 1.5  

From the word go, this was an absolute let down, and indeed a lesson in how to completely rip off your customers. False advertising abounded in the description of the night, promising fake snow, mince pies, Christmas elves and photos of the hallowed terrace looking gloriously lit up with lots of Christmas decorations. The terrace was, in fact, closed, and none of the decorations had been bothered to have been moved. Add this to a sound system which was patchy at best, and unfriendly, unhelpful staff, and that's 17 wasted. Around 20 of my friends came with me to this night, to celebrate my birthday, and I was quite embarrassed to have let them all down, and waste a combined total of around 270. Add this to a non-repliant venue/promotors who weren't helpful (or should I say, in any way responsive) when I had some very simple questions in the lead up to the night.

I hate to be the one to leave a scathing review, I do. I never do it. But frankly I feel so let down by what occurred over the course of the night that I feel like it needs to be said so you don't rip off and piss off more people in the future.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: The Studio 338 Christmas Special (Part Two) at Studio 338, Greenwich

Posted 17th Dec 12:37pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Elf Academy 2014 on 14th Dec 2014

Glasshoughton Centre Leeds Road Castleford WF10 4PF, Castleford,

Elf Academy Boot Camp

Overall rating: 4.5  

This is the first time I have been and my son (who is 4) loved it. He's doesn't usually like doing creative things but he got stuck straight in, he especially loved the racing game. Thank you for an amazing time.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Elf Academy 2014 at Glasshoughton Centre Leeds Road Castleford WF10 4PF, Castleford,

Posted 16th Dec 09:58am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Funk'n'B & Music Obsession 'The Old Skool Christmas Bash' on 13th Dec 2014

Thomas A Becket, London

Funk'n'B & Music Obsession 'The Old Skool Christmas Bash'

Overall rating: 3  

It was a real shame that my night was marred by a stupid bunch of youths who decided to have a fight, which was a good nite. Music was exactly what I wanted to here but I'm afraid there were just too many youngsters there which is why there was a fight and I ended up being cut by some of the flying broken glass. Security was a bit rubbish and it was a real task to get the bar staff to give me a bit of water to clean the blood dripping from my cut leg. Based on my experience on Saturday i don't think I would attending another night there and I have to say it ruined what should have been a really nice 40th birthday bash for me!!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Funk'n'B & Music Obsession 'The Old Skool Christmas Bash' at Thomas A Becket, London

Posted 15th Dec 05:55pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Cocoon with Sven Vath on 5th Dec 2014

Albert Hall, Manchester

Cocoon was exellent

Overall rating: 4.5  

AWESOME! AMAZING!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Cocoon with Sven Vath at Albert Hall, Manchester

Posted 15th Dec 01:18pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Circus Records: Flux Pavilion on 13th Dec 2014

Ministry Of Sound, London

ministry: main room- circus records line-up

Overall rating: 3.5  

I found doctor p's set was incredible, as he played all his old school classics that went down a treat with all dubstep lovers. Cookie monsta b2b funtcase was so heavy and dark, so many new amazing tunes that made the crowd go bananas. Flux pavillion indulged in way too much trap, which was especially unpleasant, way too minimal to be thrown in along with all the heavy dark dubstep that went on in that same room. Perhaps some loved it. But pretty much all the dubstep raver veterans i spoke to were heavily disappointed with his set. Diskord played trap too, but it was a bit heavier and darker so it was a good finish to the night. But i reckon flux needs to up his game a bit if he wants to remain as loved as the other circus records dubstep djs, and return to playing mostly dubstep, which is what many people expected! Circus records is well known for it's 'dont give a ****' intense dirty brostep and machine gun basslines. I think it should be kept that way before all is lost to trap! All in all, the most enjoyable night i have ever had by far at ministry of sound. Thank you for a wonderful and epic night :)

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Circus Records: Flux Pavilion at Ministry Of Sound, London

Posted 15th Dec 01:15pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Breakfast With Elsa Saturday 13th December 2014 on 13th Dec 2014

Corn Exchange, Leeds

Breakfast with Elsa

Overall rating: 2  

I was very disappointed with this I'm afraid. Children only received 1 slice of jam on toast and there was one toaster between 16-18 children meaning a lot of waiting around for nothing! Sat on cushions on floor and a flump, tiny choc bar with Xmas cracker on plate. Elsa came and danced to 2 songs and was over and done with. All in all most expensive piece of jam on that ever bought!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: No

Related event: Breakfast With Elsa Saturday 13th December 2014 at Corn Exchange, Leeds

Posted 15th Dec 10:25am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

GORDON HENDRICKS IS ELVIS PRESLEY on 13th Dec 2014

Bootleggers, Kendal

GORDON HENDRICKS IS ELVIS PRESLEY

Overall rating: 5  

A fantastic night in Bootleggers with ELVIS!!!! (oops.. this guy is so good.. its easy to forget... ) GORDON HENDRICKS!!!! He looks, sounds, moves like THE KING.. and this night was absolutely brilliant!! Fantastic Backing from the Passionettes.. these girls can really move! and the band musicians .. superb.. special shout out to Jonty.. He manages not only to play brilliantly, but also manages and attracts the best acts to Bootleggers on a regular basis!!! This band also play stadiums and big venues where there are around 24 on stage.. gotta book for that because.. if this set (with 7 on stage) was incredible.. imagine the sound with 24!!! Priscilla Presley has given her blessing... so.. go see him!!! You Just Can't Help Believing... Elvis is in the House!!!!!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: GORDON HENDRICKS IS ELVIS PRESLEY at Bootleggers, Kendal

Posted 14th Dec 11:58am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Haus22 Presents: Mark Fanciulli (Saved/Rejected) on 12th Dec 2014

South, Manchester

review

Overall rating: 5  

sweeet

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Haus22 Presents: Mark Fanciulli (Saved/Rejected) at South, Manchester

Posted 14th Dec 02:32am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Status Quo on 10th Dec 2014

First Direct Arena, Leeds

Status Quo Live

Overall rating: 4.5  

Awesome night. Loved the music the Quo and Chas & Dave before who provided the warm up were on top form.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Status Quo at First Direct Arena, Leeds

Posted 13th Dec 10:47pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

The Cabeytu Brothers Show on 7th Dec 2014

Merrie England Showbar - North Pier Blackpool, Blackpool

Cabeytu Brothers

We had the best afternoon in a long time watching these amazing boys the show was brilliant please come again soon.

Posted 13th Dec 05:57pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

JOOF Editions on 6th Dec 2014

The Loft, Brighton

Awesome night

Overall rating: 4  

Very cool night, venue was perfect size for crowd and the music was generally pretty great (although personally I would have liked the deep warm up stuff to have gone on a little bit longer and sometimes the banging techno was unrelentless). One of the venue toilets was out of action and when it was 80% guys that kinda sucked but otherwise super friendly crowd and staff, would definitely go again (once my hearing has recovered).

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: JOOF Editions at The Loft, Brighton

Posted 10th Dec 03:10pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

DUB TRILOGIES on 6th Dec 2014

The Zoo, Manchester

DUB TRILOGIES

Overall rating: 5  

Excellent night which does exactly what it says on the tin!! Heavy dub night with friendly vibes!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: DUB TRILOGIES at The Zoo, Manchester

Posted 9th Dec 04:16am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Flashing Lights - Part 2 on 6th Dec 2014

Ballare, Cambridge

Flashing Lights

Overall rating: 3.5  

Good music good venue

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Flashing Lights - Part 2 at Ballare, Cambridge

Posted 8th Dec 03:44pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

LED ASTRAY - LED ZEPPELIN TRIBUTE live at Dreadnoughtrock Bathgate on 6th Dec 2014

DreadnoughtRock, Bathgate

Led Astray (Led Zeppelin Tribute)

Overall rating: 5  

Brilliant musicians, outstanding vocals, violin guitar solos - the works! Worth the entry money alone for 'Moby ****'. Go and see.

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: LED ASTRAY - LED ZEPPELIN TRIBUTE live at Dreadnoughtrock Bathgate at DreadnoughtRock, Bathgate

Posted 8th Dec 02:43pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 

Boyz 2 Men Live in Concert on 7th Dec 2014

Albert Hall, Manchester

Boyz 2 men

Overall rating: 5  

Fantastic concert, amazing voices! They never disappoint! Also awesome venue!

Music Venue Prices Atmosphere
    

Would you recommended: Yes

Related event: Boyz 2 Men Live in Concert at Albert Hall, Manchester

Posted 8th Dec 10:40am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...