Latest Hotel and Apartment Reviews

We're always keen to hear about your hotel experiences... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

The Friary off Queen Street, Cardiff

Review of Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Overall rating: 3.5  

Well the hotel is in a perfect location.... Couldn't check In when we arrived although rooms were ready had to pay a 10pound fee to put our bags in... So then nearly 3 hours later we come back to go to our rooms to find one of the rooms hadn't been cleaned, dirty cups and the beds not made. So a lovely receptionist had to do the cleaners job.. Fair play to her she dint take long to do it either. Sme rooms were so small we had to ask for fans as it was to hot in them, for the money we paid it was not worth it, went down to breakfast the next day and not much choice in terms of hot food, and the beans were stone cold.... Although the one room was not ready the other 3 rooms we had were clean and tidy.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 22nd Jul 08:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Plaza Beach Hotel

Plaza Beach Hotel

96-98 Albert Road, Blackpool ,lancashire, Blackpool

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel

Overall rating: 2  

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. Their website and photos are not true. The hotel is dirty and has not had a refurbishment this year just a bit of decorating and flooring in the entrance hall and bar/reception. This hotel should be shut down for health and safety and trading standards reasons. I booked 2 rooms for myself and husband and my daughter son-in-law and granddaughter. Both rooms were disgusting and none of us would actually sleep in the bed for fear of what could be living in the mattress. The curtains were hanging off the rails the ensuites were dated and didn't look clean and had dirty stained shower curtains. The framework around the door was coming away from the wall, the sliding door to the ensuite had come off the runner and nearly fell onto my granddaughter and the carpet outside the door was frayed and had curled - an accident waiting to happen. The towels were stained and who knows what was living in the carpet! There is no full english breakfast just cereal and toast at 5 each if you dared to eat at the hotel. My son-in-law asked for the email address for the owner and surprise surprise it doesn't exist. The bar has very little stock and the entertainment is a tv. Everyone we spoke to this weekend had the same complaints. Only stayed one night but it was one night too many.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 21st Jul 12:00pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Lynton

The Lynton

104 Columbus Ravine, SCARBOROUGH

Review of The Lynton

Overall rating: 5  

My husband & I have been coming to the Lynton Hotel for over 12 years.
We have recommended the hotel on many an occasion and in turn, those people have returned to the Lynton again & again.
Cherryl & Paul are great proprietors and can't do enough for you.
The en-suit rooms are very clean & the beds are extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts are fantastic. You will not leave feeling hungry.
Michele & John from Grantham, Lincolnshire

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 19th Jul 11:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Holly House Bracknell

Holly House Bracknell

Goughs Lane, Bracknell

Review of Holly House Bracknell

Overall rating: 2  

One on the worst places I have stayed in.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 16th Jul 01:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Luxury Rooms Bristol

Luxury Rooms Bristol

BALMORAL HOUSE CANONS WAY, BRISTOL

Review of Luxury Rooms Bristol

Do not under any circumstances book with Luxury Rooms Bristol. They took my payment and then failed to answer their phones, reply to emails or meet me to give me keys. Their office did not exist and as far as I am aware the rooms are no longer available. I booked through late rooms who were awful, and did not offer a refund. Fortunately I had somewhere else to stay mad my credit card company are attempting to chase Luxury Rooms. DO NOT BOOK!

Posted 13th Jul 07:22pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Old Rectory Brean

The Old Rectory Brean

THE OLD RECTORY, CHURCH ROAD, BREAN

Review of The Old Rectory Brean

Overall rating: 2  

Stopped of for a cream tea, signs advertising dog friendly must be kept on lead. Following there rules we entered the rear garden. Seated ourselves and placed our order. Lady was friendly. One of there dogs loose in the rear garden and another that came running out of building towards us, this making our dogs bark. We then paid for our order and continued to have our food and drink. Not one other person inside or outside at the time we were there. Then a male owner came out and told us to leave saying our dogs were scaring away his customers (still no one in sight). We hadn't finished but feeling rather insulted we proceeded to leave. We asked why there was a problem and that we hadn't finished. The man was just rude. Then noticed his dogs walking around in the kitchen area. We asked a few locals around the area and was told that he is very arrogant to a lot of tourists and a lot of people have mentioned this. PLEASE find somewhere else to go. 4* official rated (needs a review).

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 13th Jul 04:33pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Alton Brook House

Alton Brook House

Alton Brook House Combridge, Staffordshire

Review of Alton Brook House

Overall rating: 1  

Alton Brook house is vastly disappointing the WEBSITE IS DECEPTIVE & MISLEADING as are the positive Tripadvisor reviews. I have also provided this review to Tripadvisor.
We booked months in advance for a family room based on good reviews and photos of the family room on the Alton Brooks B&B website. When we arrived we were told ?the boss has done some moving around?. We had been shifted to a shabby, dirty ?flat? out the back, complete with a cat flap and an odour of animal urine (see photos).
We had phoned twice (including once because this place is very difficult to find) so there was no chance they didn?t know we were coming.
For four adults we were given a queen bed, a single couch on slats and a trundle bed. There was not enough linen to make up both beds, so my two sisters and I shared the bed, while our mother took the couch in the kitchen. There was grime across all surfaces. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn?t work properly (nozzle must be hand held in place), outdoor lights were on all night with curtains that didn?t cover the windows in the kitchen. The full buffet breakfast translated to a tray containing such delicacies as chocolate mousse, with cereals in the cupboard and not enough cutlery for four people.
The booking had been secured by credit card so two days prior to our arrival without notice of the room change or notice of the charge at all, the room was debited (135).
The girl who showed us tried to make out to us that we had been given the flat ?for more room?, the couch bed we were told, ?probably folds out? and the ?sheets and towels are in here? SO WE COULD MAKE UP THE BEDS. The owner?s response was that ?you should have rung? and he would have brought us more linen. However the premise when you make a booking for four adults you expect the room to be ready.
All food products were ?Tesco?s Finest?, which along with the rude and condescending male owner, accurately reflects the cheap and nasty flavour of this establishment.
It was the worst place we have stayed. And it made our first night in England absolutely awful, luckily we had a lovely stay in Scotland previously in other bed & breakfasts.
I would recommend trying your luck at the Bulls Head or other accommodation towards Alton proper. At least one other Tripadvisor review dated 28 May 2014 appears to describe an experience similar to ours. With regard to the positive reviews, it might have been different had we been in a family with children staying the family room but the room and amenities we were given coupled with the attitude of the owner, have ensured we will not be back and advise others to avoid it like the plague.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 10th Jul 08:38am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Hayloft

The Hayloft

242 HIGH STREET, COTTENHAM

Review of The Hayloft

Overall rating: 3.5  

Found absolutely no service. Very impersonal. No WIFI or sat TV as advertised. Breakfast was left in room previous evening making it stale in the morning. No parking, even public parking on road difficult due to double yellow lines. Spiral staircase difficult to manoeuvre. See through curtains/ blinds allow light in at 4am and TV bolted to the wall in one position.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 3rd Jul 09:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Normanby

The Normanby

9 11, Normanby Road, Scunthorpe

The Normanby rd hotel b&b tart

Overall rating: 2  

This is the worse b&b ive ever stayed in so do your selfs a favor and find a different b&b the landlady is a bit stuck up and not easy to get on with she keeps dogs in the house and one dog was eating from my plate as i just left the table for 3 minutes to pop to the loo .and she refused to replace the meal saying i'd all most eaten it all .one guy told me he in fact slept with the landlady the night before as she has'nt got a regular guy i wonder why and it was here who went on to him ! jo is her name and she even gave him a discount for his services so its a bit of a grubby dive, looks nice from out side and is clean in side but service is bad and its a rip off at 55.00 per night u can find cheaper in s****horpe

reg jones

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 2nd Jul 06:22pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Windmill Hill Views Apartment

Windmill Hill Views Apartment

44, Eldon Terrace Windmill Hill, Bristol

Review of Windmill Hill Views Apartment

Overall rating: 5  

A special little oasis of peace in the middle of a city! Comfortable and quirky and convenient and private. Just lovely! Superb breakfast. Beautiful view over Bristol City, wonderful at night. Would highly recommend.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 27th Jun 10:38am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Luxury Rooms Bristol

Luxury Rooms Bristol

BALMORAL HOUSE CANONS WAY, BRISTOL

Review of Luxury Rooms Bristol

Overall rating: 2  

My original review of this terrible excuse for a business is located at the bottom. After leaving this review, they offered me a complementary stay to make up for the negative points of my stay.

After much back and forth with communications, they confirmed the complementary booking with me (June 22nd), WHICH THEY THEN CANCELLED THE NIGHT BEFORE. I had already booked my travel and other events that I was attending in Bristol, so I was forced to arrange last minute accommodation due to their absolutely pathetic customer service.

Original review:
"We stayed for one night at Luxury Rooms Bristol (on Deanery Road). The look and feel of the place was nice and the view was great, but the overall experience was brought down by a few things:
1. No shampoo or conditioner to use; just a couple of small soap bars.
2. Buzzing fridge which was very annoying at night.
3. Very audible dripping shower head which was, again, very annoying at night.

Also, since this seemed to be a converted on-suite apartment room, there wasn't any information on whether the bathroom tap water was drinkable or not.This was described as a "deluxe" room, which unfortunately didn't feel very deluxe."

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 24th Jun 09:27pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Sara Apartments

Sara Apartments

13b Richmond Road Ilford, London

Review of Sara Apartments

Overall rating: 1  

this is not really a hotel but a block of flats the owner could not sell.
the weekend we stayed he had booked out the top flat to a bunch of kids who had a party all night long, throwing bottles etc over the balcony,
we also saw a lot of drug dealing going on right out side our window, the drug dealers hiding under the garages there.
the area is run down and rough, defo not for families or a romantic get away.
THIS IS NOT A HOTEL by any means of the word

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 19th Jun 09:40pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Wilmslow Hotel

Wilmslow Hotel

356, Wilmslow Road, Manchester

Review of Wilmslow Hotel

Overall rating: 4  

Well kept, basic but hospitable room, one of the cheapest and easily accessible in Manchester, great for a few night's stay.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 16th Jun 11:18am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Bristol Hotel - A member of The Doyle Collection

The Bristol Hotel - A member of The Doyle Collection

Harbourside Prince Street, Bristol

Review of The Bristol Hotel - A member of The Doyle Collection

Overall rating: 4  

The hotel location was great for the harbour and the parking facilities were brilliant. We had a lovely stay for one night. We did use the bar which was hotel prices, but we did not stop for the breakfast,choosing to go onto the harbour side.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 9th Jun 06:13pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
chellowdene

chellowdene

CHELLOWDENE, GYLLYNGVASE HILL, FALMOUTH

excellent.

Overall rating: 5  

The room was comfy and the brekkie superb.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 9th Jun 06:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street

ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street

Charles Street, Manchester

Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street

Overall rating: 4  

Hotel was nice, a bit pricey for the Saturday that we stayed however we realised there was a big festival on so all the hotels were pricey so not their fault. The service was good and friendly, the hotel is close to a very lively and loud club so if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep then this isnt the place for you. Other than that I would recommend the hotel as its very convinient and clean.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 9th Jun 03:57pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Travelodge Worthing Seafront

Travelodge Worthing Seafront

86-95 MARINE PARADE, WORTHING

Review of Travelodge Worthing Seafront

Overall rating: 4.5  

Staff on reception very pleasant and helpfull but a little more organisation in cafe for breakfast is needed

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 8th Jun 05:45pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Breconridge Bed and Breakfast

Breconridge Bed and Breakfast

4 Canal View Camerton, Bath

Review of Breconridge Bed and Breakfast

Overall rating: 4  

Enjoyable 2 night stay,lovely friendly hosts.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 8th Jun 02:13pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Metro Inns Derby

Metro Inns Derby

Macklin Street, Derby

Review of Metro Inns Derby

Overall rating: 2.5  

What a dump

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 8th Jun 10:21am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Blossoms York

Blossoms York

28 Clifton, York

Review of Blossoms York

Overall rating: 3  

THe entrance hall is grim & dirty and the whole place could do with a through clean & re-decoration, albeit the breakfast room was fine. The bathroom was so small to be ridiculous,
the light over the wash basin not working so that electric razor couldn't be used. The windows above the bed were so warped that the draught coming in made my partner sleep the other way round in her bed! Not again under any circumstances.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 7th Jun 03:54pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Plasturton Apartments Cardiff Central

Plasturton Apartments Cardiff Central

23 Plasturton Avenue Pontcanna, Cardiff

Rip off, you won't get your deposit back!

Do NOT stay at this apartment if you want your deposit back. I has been over a month since I booked to stay here and I have still not received my money back which i was promised to be returned upon departure. I left the apartment clean and spotless and returned the keys. Complete rip off and liars.

Posted 6th Jun 11:00am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Tudor Croft

Tudor Croft

Tudor Croft, Woodfield Lane, Hessle

Review of Tudor Croft

Overall rating: 5  

Stayed two nights, very well presented and decorated room, spotlessly clean, beautifully quiet location, and walking distance from Hessle centre, very friendly hosts.I highly recommend staying here.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 4th Jun 08:18pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The New Huddersfield Hotel

The New Huddersfield Hotel

35 47, Kirkgate, Huddersfield

Review of The New Huddersfield Hotel

Overall rating: 4.5  

A basic, clean and tidy room good value for money and close to the University which is where I was visiting. Freshly painted so still a strong smell of gloss! The Hotel has let most of its rooms to students but that part was separate from the short term paying guests and it was very quiet the night I stayed. My only grumble was not having a side light or ability to switch off lights from my bed which was annoying. There is also no breakfast offered which I hadn't noticed when I booked as I took that for granted. Lots of places nearby to eat breakfast though.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 4th Jun 09:49am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Hub

The Hub

7 Yeoman Street, Leicester

Review of The Hub

Overall rating: 2.5  

The apartments looked a little worn but were okay. The music noise from surrounding bars is a real problem and makes the apartments unusable. Booked 2 nights only stayed one.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 3rd Jun 10:59pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Angel Hotel

The Angel Hotel

Angel Hotel, New Quay Road, Whitby

Review of The Angel Hotel

Overall rating: 5  

A lovely hotel - very well maintained and friendly staff. You don't get breakfast included but it is a Wetherspoons so cheap breakfast deals available - tea and toast for example about 2.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 1st Jun 02:23pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...