Latest Hotel and Apartment Reviews

We're always keen to hear about your hotel experiences... here are the latest reviews added by visitors to Skiddle! Why not add your own review and contribute to the community...

Butlers Hotel

Butlers Hotel

40-42 CARDIGAN ROAD, LEEDS

Review of Butlers Hotel

Overall rating: 1  

Don't go there
Dirty and uncomfortable
Take more of the reviews

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 18th Oct 10:11pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Raffles Hotel & Tearooms

Raffles Hotel & Tearooms

73-77 Hornby Road, Blackpool

Review of Raffles Hotel & Tearooms

great stay at this hotel

Posted 10th Oct 07:52am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The County Hotel

The County Hotel

BRIGHOWGATE, GRIMSBY

Review of The County Hotel

Overall rating: 1  

Like stepping back in time, only stay if you are too drunk to notice how bad it is and have nowhere else to crash. The mattress was so old and nasty, it made my skin crawl. Paid over the Internet, charged again at the hotel and as miles from home had to front the cash I was not expecting to have to do. Totally unimpressed from start to finish.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 7th Oct 05:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Le Ville Hotel

Le Ville Hotel

38-42 Canal Street, Manchester

Review of Le Ville Hotel

Overall rating: 4.5  

Nice hotel and would recommend it

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 6th Oct 10:46am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

London RoadToll Bar end, Coventry

Review of The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

Overall rating: 4.5  

Just visited the hotel for Sunday Jazz lunch at their carvery and had a lovely experience. the staff and welcoming and friendly and it is good value for money. The jazz pianist plays in the lobby of the hotel and the grounds are pleasing to sit around afterwards

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 29th Sep 05:42am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Sara Apartments

Sara Apartments

13b Richmond Road Ilford, London

Review of Sara Apartments

Overall rating: 1  

This place was absolutely disgusting the shower/bath didnt work stuff was falling apart all over the place and everything was filthy and the owner had rented the top floor to a load of rowdy idiots that were partying all night with music blaring out ALL NIGHT not good when you have kids staying there.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 22nd Sep 10:03am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Hill View Hotel

Hill View Hotel

90 PRESTON NEW ROAD, BLACKBURN

Review of Hill View Hotel

Overall rating: 1  

rubbish wahabbi

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 10th Sep 10:13pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Villa Esplanade Apartments & Hotel Rooms

Villa Esplanade Apartments & Hotel Rooms

South Cliff Esplanade, SCARBOROUGH

Review of Villa Esplanade Apartments & Hotel Rooms

Overall rating: 2  

The location is excellent. As for everything else it's dreadful.
It looks good on the web site, but it?s not at all like the pictures, for a more accurate view, Google Oliver Street YO11, it?s the grey run down building with a campervan parked at the front. The Villa is connected to this building through reception and this is the accommodation for most of the guests. Everything inside matches the exterior old tired and dated.
We paid 293 for an apartment for 5 nights in September. We arrived on a Sunday and were informed parking, electric, and towels are not included in the booking. The first apartment had no shower just an ancient 60s pink bath. I asked if there was another apartment with a shower and we were given the keys to 32. The shower was ancient working from the bath taps and was no use at all because the hot water pressure was so low. We went out for a meal and returned to find the Police had been called to a disturbance. We witnessed the police removing a young man in handcuffs from the apartment next to ours. On the third night we were horrified to discover no pillow case or mattress protectors on the bed.
We didn't complain until the day of departure as we didn't want to spend our break being angry and negative.
I complained to a very confrontational man at reception who was supposedly the manager on the morning of our departure, rather than apologising he went on the offensive.
I certainly wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 9th Sep 01:06am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Village Inn

The Village Inn

The Village Inn, Kirtlebridge

Review of The Village Inn

Overall rating: 4.5  

Enjoyed our stay, room and en-suite,clean. Host very friendly and helpful. Bar welcoming and friendly. Evening food very good and good value for money. Breakfast outstanding. would stay again.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 6th Sep 05:57pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The White Swan Hotel

The White Swan Hotel

31-32 MARKET SQUARE, DUNS

Review of The White Swan Hotel

Overall rating: 4  

Stayed here in August 2014. Staff were very helpful, breakfast was brilliant and we had a meal in the restaurant which was very good a bit much through.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 3rd Sep 12:52pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Monterey Beach Hotel

Monterey Beach Hotel

20 - 22 North Promenade, LYTHAM ST. ANNES

Review of Monterey Beach Hotel

Overall rating: 1.5  

Wast of money not clean

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 26th Aug 01:10am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Monterey Beach Hotel

Monterey Beach Hotel

20 - 22 North Promenade, LYTHAM ST. ANNES

Review of Monterey Beach Hotel

Overall rating: 2  

Ive never been so disappointed.was looking forward to a nice clean hotel only to find it very shaby and old furniture in side. And not worth the money.i carnt speak for others but please don't wast hour money at the Monterey . Go Elle's were
Good luck you sure will need it ps and take some air freshner it smells of damp from the lindum hotel


Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 25th Aug 09:09pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Chalet 50

Chalet 50

BROADWAY LANE, CIRENCESTER

Review of Chalet 50

Overall rating: 5  

Lovely place to stay so comfortable I will soon be making another visit.Would thoroughly recommend.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 25th Aug 09:08pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Hazelwood B&B

Hazelwood B&B

44 BATH STREET, SOUTHPORT

Review of Hazelwood B&B

Overall rating: 5  

Very welcoming from hosts, Room had lots of homely features, like books, playing cards, wine glasses, hot water bottles, biscuits, jars of coffee, instant tea and coffee mate. A comfortable bed, TV and fridge. Toilet and shower room very small. Good breakfast served at time you wanted, and good quality. Private parking outside .

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 17th Aug 11:51am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Capital Residence

Capital Residence

27, Pilrig Street, Edinburgh

Review of Capital Residence

Overall rating: 2  

No one available to meet us on arrival, never mind let us into the hotel. Envelopes with room keys left outside for us to help ourselves but our names were not there. We took another envelope and left a contact number as we suspected a mix up in names. (This was a guess after standing outside for an hour) The room hadn't been hoovered, the toilet hadn't been cleaned, there was dirty underwear left under the radiator and the bedside lamp smashed. The next morning was the first contact we had with anyone related to the hotel and they confirmed the mix up in names and the room was meant to have been ready for us. We were offered a full refund on our stay. 6 weeks later, several phone calls and emails to the hotel, I am still waiting for my money back. Poor service.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 16th Aug 12:19am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Allington grange barn

Allington grange barn

Allington grange barn Allington Chippenham Wiltshire sn, Chippenham

Review of Allington grange barn

BEWARE of this place. We booked a stay in July and paid 75 deposit. On our arrival we checked in and were shown our rooms. When we returned later the same day we were told the room was cancelled leaving us with nowhere to stay. We are still fighting to have our deposit returned.

Posted 6th Aug 09:55pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Restover Lodge Doncaster

Restover Lodge Doncaster

Restover Lodge, Ten Pound Walk, Doncaster

disgusting health and saftey issue

Overall rating: 1  

wants closing down so dirty DONT EVEN THINK OF GOING THERE.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 5th Aug 11:42am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

The Friary off Queen Street, Cardiff

Review of Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Overall rating: 3.5  

Well the hotel is in a perfect location.... Couldn't check In when we arrived although rooms were ready had to pay a 10pound fee to put our bags in... So then nearly 3 hours later we come back to go to our rooms to find one of the rooms hadn't been cleaned, dirty cups and the beds not made. So a lovely receptionist had to do the cleaners job.. Fair play to her she dint take long to do it either. Sme rooms were so small we had to ask for fans as it was to hot in them, for the money we paid it was not worth it, went down to breakfast the next day and not much choice in terms of hot food, and the beans were stone cold.... Although the one room was not ready the other 3 rooms we had were clean and tidy.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 22nd Jul 08:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Plaza Beach Hotel

Plaza Beach Hotel

96-98 Albert Road, Blackpool ,lancashire, Blackpool

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel

Overall rating: 2  

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. Their website and photos are not true. The hotel is dirty and has not had a refurbishment this year just a bit of decorating and flooring in the entrance hall and bar/reception. This hotel should be shut down for health and safety and trading standards reasons. I booked 2 rooms for myself and husband and my daughter son-in-law and granddaughter. Both rooms were disgusting and none of us would actually sleep in the bed for fear of what could be living in the mattress. The curtains were hanging off the rails the ensuites were dated and didn't look clean and had dirty stained shower curtains. The framework around the door was coming away from the wall, the sliding door to the ensuite had come off the runner and nearly fell onto my granddaughter and the carpet outside the door was frayed and had curled - an accident waiting to happen. The towels were stained and who knows what was living in the carpet! There is no full english breakfast just cereal and toast at 5 each if you dared to eat at the hotel. My son-in-law asked for the email address for the owner and surprise surprise it doesn't exist. The bar has very little stock and the entertainment is a tv. Everyone we spoke to this weekend had the same complaints. Only stayed one night but it was one night too many.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 21st Jul 12:00pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Lynton

The Lynton

104 Columbus Ravine, SCARBOROUGH

Review of The Lynton

Overall rating: 5  

My husband & I have been coming to the Lynton Hotel for over 12 years.
We have recommended the hotel on many an occasion and in turn, those people have returned to the Lynton again & again.
Cherryl & Paul are great proprietors and can't do enough for you.
The en-suit rooms are very clean & the beds are extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts are fantastic. You will not leave feeling hungry.
Michele & John from Grantham, Lincolnshire

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: Yes

Posted 19th Jul 11:17pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Holly House Bracknell

Holly House Bracknell

Goughs Lane, Bracknell

Review of Holly House Bracknell

Overall rating: 2  

One on the worst places I have stayed in.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 16th Jul 01:38pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Luxury Rooms Bristol

Luxury Rooms Bristol

BALMORAL HOUSE CANONS WAY, BRISTOL

Review of Luxury Rooms Bristol

Do not under any circumstances book with Luxury Rooms Bristol. They took my payment and then failed to answer their phones, reply to emails or meet me to give me keys. Their office did not exist and as far as I am aware the rooms are no longer available. I booked through late rooms who were awful, and did not offer a refund. Fortunately I had somewhere else to stay mad my credit card company are attempting to chase Luxury Rooms. DO NOT BOOK!

Posted 13th Jul 07:22pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Old Rectory Brean

The Old Rectory Brean

THE OLD RECTORY, CHURCH ROAD, BREAN

Review of The Old Rectory Brean

Overall rating: 2  

Stopped of for a cream tea, signs advertising dog friendly must be kept on lead. Following there rules we entered the rear garden. Seated ourselves and placed our order. Lady was friendly. One of there dogs loose in the rear garden and another that came running out of building towards us, this making our dogs bark. We then paid for our order and continued to have our food and drink. Not one other person inside or outside at the time we were there. Then a male owner came out and told us to leave saying our dogs were scaring away his customers (still no one in sight). We hadn't finished but feeling rather insulted we proceeded to leave. We asked why there was a problem and that we hadn't finished. The man was just rude. Then noticed his dogs walking around in the kitchen area. We asked a few locals around the area and was told that he is very arrogant to a lot of tourists and a lot of people have mentioned this. PLEASE find somewhere else to go. 4* official rated (needs a review).

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 13th Jul 04:33pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
Alton Brook House

Alton Brook House

Alton Brook House Combridge, Staffordshire

Review of Alton Brook House

Overall rating: 1  

Alton Brook house is vastly disappointing the WEBSITE IS DECEPTIVE & MISLEADING as are the positive Tripadvisor reviews. I have also provided this review to Tripadvisor.
We booked months in advance for a family room based on good reviews and photos of the family room on the Alton Brooks B&B website. When we arrived we were told ?the boss has done some moving around?. We had been shifted to a shabby, dirty ?flat? out the back, complete with a cat flap and an odour of animal urine (see photos).
We had phoned twice (including once because this place is very difficult to find) so there was no chance they didn?t know we were coming.
For four adults we were given a queen bed, a single couch on slats and a trundle bed. There was not enough linen to make up both beds, so my two sisters and I shared the bed, while our mother took the couch in the kitchen. There was grime across all surfaces. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn?t work properly (nozzle must be hand held in place), outdoor lights were on all night with curtains that didn?t cover the windows in the kitchen. The full buffet breakfast translated to a tray containing such delicacies as chocolate mousse, with cereals in the cupboard and not enough cutlery for four people.
The booking had been secured by credit card so two days prior to our arrival without notice of the room change or notice of the charge at all, the room was debited (135).
The girl who showed us tried to make out to us that we had been given the flat ?for more room?, the couch bed we were told, ?probably folds out? and the ?sheets and towels are in here? SO WE COULD MAKE UP THE BEDS. The owner?s response was that ?you should have rung? and he would have brought us more linen. However the premise when you make a booking for four adults you expect the room to be ready.
All food products were ?Tesco?s Finest?, which along with the rude and condescending male owner, accurately reflects the cheap and nasty flavour of this establishment.
It was the worst place we have stayed. And it made our first night in England absolutely awful, luckily we had a lovely stay in Scotland previously in other bed & breakfasts.
I would recommend trying your luck at the Bulls Head or other accommodation towards Alton proper. At least one other Tripadvisor review dated 28 May 2014 appears to describe an experience similar to ours. With regard to the positive reviews, it might have been different had we been in a family with children staying the family room but the room and amenities we were given coupled with the attitude of the owner, have ensured we will not be back and advise others to avoid it like the plague.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 10th Jul 08:38am

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...

 
The Hayloft

The Hayloft

242 HIGH STREET, COTTENHAM

Review of The Hayloft

Overall rating: 3.5  

Found absolutely no service. Very impersonal. No WIFI or sat TV as advertised. Breakfast was left in room previous evening making it stale in the morning. No parking, even public parking on road difficult due to double yellow lines. Spiral staircase difficult to manoeuvre. See through curtains/ blinds allow light in at 4am and TV bolted to the wall in one position.

Cleanliness Service Comfort Value Location
     

Would you recommended: No

Posted 3rd Jul 09:04pm

Agree? Disagree? Add your own review...